Lasoski Nips Larson At Knoxville

Danny Lasoski in victory lane on the opening night of the 360 Nationals at Knoxville (Iowa) Raceway. (Tim Aylwin photo)
Danny Lasoski in victory lane on the opening night of the 360 Nationals at Knoxville (Iowa) Raceway. (Tim Aylwin photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — The all-time winning driver in the history of the Knoxville Raceway proved why that is in Thursday night’s Arnold Motor Supply 360 Knoxville Nationals opener as Danny Lasoski piloted the Parker Burch No. 1m to victory.

Edging out Kyle Larson by less than a half car length after trading the lead four times over the course of the final lap, Lasoski credited Larson in victory lane.

“There’s a reason he (Larson) got the nickname “Young Money,’” Lasoski said. “The kid did a great job for not being here as much as he has to race me clean. He didn’t give an inch. I didn’t give an inch but I hope the fans all enjoyed that because that was one hell of race.”

Going the distance under non-stop green flag laps, slower traffic played into the fight for the lead, with the pair also trading the point on lap 14.

“When you’re lapping cars, you just go where they’re not and you don’t know where the second place guy is,” said Lasoski. “I couldn’t thank Mark Burch and all these guys on this car. Phil Durst and Brian Durst, these guys help us on this car and we get to race very little in a 360 and it sure is a pleasure to race this car.”

The Dover, Mo., veteran crossed a slim 0.126 second ahead of Kyle Larson with Wayne Johnson charging from eighth to complete the podium and position the two time Arnold Motor Supply 360 Knoxville National winning No. 77x atop the night’s point standing; 10 markers off a perfect score at 490 points.

Brad Sweet crossed fourth with Lee Grosz completing the top five.

The results

Fast time: Wayne Johnson, 15.561 seconds

First Heat (8 laps): Jon Agan, Davey Heskin, Wayne Johnson, J.D. Johnson, Joe Beaver, Mike Houseman Jr., Alan Ambers, Carson McCarl, Tim Crawley, Chris Martin.

Second Heat (8 laps): Randy Martin, Tim Shaffer, Jason Johnson, Lee Grosz, Brady Bacon, Matt Juhl, Jamie Ball, Zach Blurton, Casey Fredrichsen, Jeff Carlson.

Third Heat (8 laps): Kyle Larson, Brad Sweet, Logan Forler, Matt Covington, Johnny Herrera, Shawn Dancer, Derrik Lusk, Randi Miller, Danny Jennings, Robert Bell.

Fourth Heat (8 laps): Tasker Phillips, Matt Moro, Brad Loyet, Danny Dietrich, Darren Long, David Hall, Ryan Roberts, Cole Wood, Brad Foster.

Fifth Heat (8 laps): Roger Crockett, Jonathan Cornell, Randy Hannagan, Danny Lasoski, Dustin Selvage, Dustin Morgan, Ricky Montgomery, Shawn Petersen, Kevin Ingle.

C Main (5 laps): Jennings, Martin, Crawley, Friedrichsen, Carlson, Foster, Ingle, R. Bell.

B Main (12 laps): Selvage, Beaver, Herrera, Hall, Ball, Houseman, Morgan, Bacon, Dancer, Lusk, Wood, Juhl, Miller, Crawley, Blurton, Roberts, Jennings, Martin, Friedrichsen, Petersen, Long, Montgomery, McCarl, Ambers.

Feature (20 laps): Lasoski, Larson, W. Johnson, Sweet, Grosz, Cornell, Heskin, J. Johnson, Hannagan, Agan, Covington, Loyet, Dietrich, Crockett, Phillips, Selvage, Herrera, Beaver, Moro, Forler, Hall, Martin, J.D. Johnson, Shaffer.