Lake Ozark Sprint Belongs To Ryan Timms

Ryan Timms in victory lane. (Ken Simon photo)
Ryan Timms in victory lane. (Ken Simon photo)

ELDON, Mo. — A dogfight of a night for the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products and ASCS Warrior Region presented by Impact Signs, Awnings, and Wraps ended with a first-time winner.

Oklahoma’s Ryan Timms roared into victory lane Friday at Lake Ozark Speedway, becoming the 87th different ASCS Warrior Region winner, and 82nd with the ASCS Sooner Region.

Taking the green from fourth, Timms railed the cushion of the one-third-mile oval. After taking second on the opening lap, the No. 5t was in hot pursuit of Seth Bergman.

Reaching traffic on lap six, the slower cars worked to Timms’ advantage, with the lead officially changing hands on the seventh round.

Working through race stoppages, the pair began an all-out assault after that, with the lead changing officially four times between laps 11 and 16.

Trying to work past the No. 5t in the first and second turn the following lap, Bergman biked the Corridor Electric No. 23 and unfortunately saw his night come to a violent close.

Thankfully, Bergman was not injured.

Coming back to green, the battle was on behind Timms, and Blake Hahn and Scott Bogucki went at it for second. Contact between the two on lap 22 resulted in a failed left rear on the No. 28 that relegated Bogucki to the infield.

Meanwhile, Dylan Westbrook took advantage and shot around both drivers for second.

With Timms having plenty of breathing room from there, the advantage for the teenager at the finish line was 2.480 seconds over Westbrook.

Third went to Hahn, with Matt Covington in fourth. Rolling from 19th to fifth, Washington’s J.J. Hickle was the night’s Stuart House Hard Charger.

Austin Alumbaugh crossed sixth, followed by Sean McClelland in seventh. Gunner Ramey was eighth, trailed by Colby Thornhill, who ran from 18th to ninth.

Making up five spots, Kyle Bellm completed the top 10.

The finish:

A-Main (25 laps): 1. 5T-Ryan Timms [4]; 2. 47X-Dylan Westbrook [7]; 3. 52-Blake Hahn [5]; 4. 95-Matt Covington [6]; 5. 63-J.J. Hickle [19]; 6. 33-Austin Alumbaugh [1]; 7. 1-Sean McClelland [9]; 8. 21R-Gunner Ramey [8]; 9. 19-Colby Thornhill [18]; 10. 14E-Kyle Bellm [15]; 11. 10C-Jeremy Campbell [10]; 12. 15-Christian Bowman [13]; 13. 28-Scott Bogucki [3]; 14. 75-Tyler Blank [20]; 15. 24-Garet Williamson [17]; 16. 22S-Slater Helt [14]; 17. 23-Seth Bergman [2]; 18. 86-Timothy Smith [11]; 19. 11-Austin O’Neal [16]; 20. 77X-Alex Hill [12].