Kulhanek Snares Royal Purple Cash

Ray Allen Kulhanek in victory lane Saturday at Royal Purple Raceway in Baytown, Texas.
Ray Allen Kulhanek in victory lane Saturday at Royal Purple Raceway in Baytown, Texas.

BAYTOWN, Texas — With the Smiley’s Racing Products ASCS Gulf South championship hanging in the balance, Ray Allen Kulhanek picked a prime opportunity to snare his second series win of the year in Saturday night’s 30-lap main event at Royal Purple Raceway.

Kulhanek gunned into the lead at the outset from the pole position and fought off Kolt Walker over the latter stages of the race to pick up the $3,000 victory aboard David Miller’s Don Ott-powered Miller’s RV Park/B&M Jr. No. 21T J&J.

After entering the night one point behind Tommy Bryant in the championship chase, Kulhanek carries a 39-point edge over Bryant into the series season finale at Battleground Speedway Oct. 1 as he seeks his third ASCS Gulf South championship and second in a row.

Running one-two throughout from the front row, Kulhanek and Walker battled side-by-side for the point for a full lap after a lap-23 restart with Kulhanek surging ahead to deny Walker his second straight Gulf South score at Royal Purple.

Kulhanek posted his 12th career ASCS Gulf South win in front of Walker, with Channin Tankersley advancing from several rows deep to claim the show position. Kevin Ramey picked up Hard Charger honors by racing from 21st to fourth, with Bean Elliott rounding out the top five.

The finish:

Ray Allen Kulhanek, Kolt Walker, Channin Tankersley, Kevin Ramey, Bean Elliott, Brandon Corn, Aaron Reutzel, John Pate, Michael McNeil, Tommy Bryant, Evan Pardo, George White, Wes Miller, Klint Angelette, Terry Monroe, Gary Watson, Greg Rilat, Brandon Berryman, Logan Bledsoe, Travis Elliott, Scottie McDonald, Eric Baldaccini, Larry Howery, Chris Sweeney.