Kennedale Sprint To Jason Johnson

Jason Johnson won Friday night's ASCS Speedweek opener at Kennedale, Texas. (Tim Aylwin photo)
Jason Johnson won Friday night’s ASCS Speedweek opener at Kennedale, Texas. (Tim Aylwin photo)

KENNEDALE, Texas — Taking his fourth Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real victory of 2013, Jason Johnson led the night’s 30 laps at the Kennedale Speedway Park in the series first visit to the quarter-mile oval which attracted 42 drivers for the 2013 Sizzin’ Summer Speedweek kickoff.

“My guys have been working their tails off these past few weeks. We’ve kind of been off. We haven’t won a race in a month, and for us that’s a long time” explained Johnson in victory lane. “They built a brand new car and Chris with Roush Yates has been working on our engines trying to figure out some of our problems.”

Earning the outside, front row, the MVT No. 41 grabbed the lead only to have a caution displayed for the spun No. 4j of John James; forcing the complete restart.

The second attempt was much of the same for Johnson, jumping to the point over polesitter Ryan Hall.

The caution displayed on lap three as Patrick Stasa and Brad Loyet tangled in turn one. Both drivers were able to continue.

Returning to speed, the yellow was again displayed on lap five as Ryan Hall spun running fourth. With nowhere to escape, the No. 21t of Ray Allen Kulhanek jumped the front wing of Hall’s No. 79 in order to avoid stopping. Kulhanek received little, if no damage.

Underway, second running Aaron Reutzel began feeling the challenge from Jeff Swindell who had worked to third after starting sixth. Rounding turns three and four for the seventh time however, Reutzel’s night ended in a cloud of smoke.

Swindell inherited the runner up spot with Zach Pringle, Ray Allen Kulhanek, and Cole Wood in tow.

To the caution on lap 13, the single file restart pitted leaders against lapped cars as Swindell worked the cushion in Johnson’s tire tracks, but again watched as the No. 41 opened to a nearly straight-a-way advantage.

“We went back to some old stuff we used to do six, eight, ten years ago and it’s brought the car back to life” said Swindell of his runner up finish. “We were pretty equal to Jason there I think, and I had a little on the bottom because that’s where I was making all my passes.”

Despite several near calls in slower traffic, Jason Johnson parked the Stenhouse Motorsports No. 41 in victory lane. Jeff Swindell crossed second with Zach Pringle third but unfortunately would be disqualified for failing to report to the scales. Cole Wood would be credited with the final podium step with Ray Allen Kulhanek fourth. Advancing out of the night’s first B-Feature, Matt Covington raced from 21st to complete the top five.

The finish:

Jason Johnson, Jeff Swindell, Cole Wood, Ray Allen Kulhanek, Matt Covington, Kevin Ramey, Johnny Herrera, Logan Forler, Seth Bergman, Travis Rilat, Kolt Walker, Tony Bruce Jr., Joshua Hodges, Raven Culp, John James, Dale Wester, Aaron Reutzel, Dustin Morgan, Patrick Stasa, Brad Loyet, Ryan Hall, Ryan Beechler, Shane Sellers, Zach Pringle.



Previous articlePreece Is Stafford Comeback Kid
Next articleClauson Takes Round Three At Bloomington is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.