Johnson’s Repeat Performance

Jason Johnson (41) rolls around Brian Brown en route during Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Series racing at Lucas Oil Speedway. (Ken Simon photo)
Jason Johnson (41) rolls around Brian Brown en route to winning Saturday’s Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Series event at Lucas Oil Speedway. (Ken Simon photo)

WHEATLAND, Mo. — For the second year in a row Jason Johnson stood atop the podium at Lucas Oil Speedway as the champion of the Jesse Hockett/Daniel McMillin Memorial with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV.

In a very emotional victory lane interview, Jason related his relationship with his crew chief to that of Jesse Hockett and Daniel McMillin.

“Jesse and Daniel were great friends of Phillip and I and I’m lucky we’re still on this earth. I know Jesse and Daniel are in a better place but I tell you what he must ride with me,” Johnson said. “That guy was a great friend of mine.”

Failing to lock in through Friday night’s feature, Johnson charged from sixth to first in his heat to gain the high point position to get into the redraw for the night’s feature. Taking to the grid on the outside of the front row the MVT/Roush Yates Ford No. 41 jumped to the point ahead of the Casey’s General Store/FVP/Searsboro No. 21 of Brian Brown.

Able to pull to a comfortable advantage, Johnson would find the back of the field by the tenth circuit. Allowing Brown to close with Shane Stewart and Brady Bacon in tow, the potential battle for the lead quickly became a race for the runner-up spot as Stewart and Bacon stalked Brown.

Continuing this trend into the final 10 laps, Brown would nearly see his night end after contact with a slower car on lap 23 sent the Casey’s General Store No. 21 careening towards the outside wall. Able to save the car, Brown would fall to fourth as Stewart and Bacon sailed by.

Able to run down Johnson under green flag laps, Stewart was smoking his right-rear tire as the white flag waved. Making what was thought to be the last-lap effort for the win would see Johnson holding off the charge of Stewart only to have the caution flag wave as Johnny Herrera stopped in turn two with a shredded tire.

Going back to the last completed lap, Johnson sailed to an easy victory. Stewart, Bacon, Brown and Logan Forler rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Jason Johnson, Shane Stewart, Brady Bacon, Brian Brown, Logan Forler, Tony Bruce Jr., Wayne Johnson, Gary Wright, Jonathan Cornell, Derek Hagar, Brandon Schure, Brad Loyet, Jeff Swindell, Johnny Herrera, Justin Henderson, Seth Bergman, Jake Martens, Jordan Boston, R.J. Johnson, Tyler Blank, Jay Russell, Dustin Morgan.



Previous articleThomas Slides To POWRi Glory
Next articleThorn Sticks K&N West Foes is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.