Johnson Tops Sprint Car Smackdown


EL PASO, Texas — Jason Johnson added $3,000 to his bank account Friday night at the El Paso Speedway Park, charging from seventh to win the inaugural ASCS 305 ci  Sprint Car Smackdown with the West Texas ASCS 305 Region.

Working past Aaron Reutzel with 13 laps to go, traffic, and a caution with three to go, played into Johnson’s hands as the Stenhouse Racing No. 41 crossed with an advantage of 0.655 seconds.

Johnny Herrera worked to second on the race’s final restart with Aaron Reutzel settling for the final podium step.
Originally scheduled to lineup fourth, Brady Bacon would have to charge from 24th to his original starting spot after requiring a second push for spinning before the green flag. Lorne Wofford rounded out the top five.

The finish:
Jason Johnson, Johnny Herrera, Aaron Reutzel, Brady Bacon, Lorne Wofford, Kyle McCutcheon, John Carney II, Cesar Fuentes, Wes Wofford, Derek Drown, Jeff Swindell, Shawn Petersen, Don Grable, Zach Blurton, Royal Jones, Colt Treharn, Josh Hawkins, Anton Salopek, Brandon Schure, Austin Mundie, Cory Riley, Chuck Jackson, Kyle Sager, Aaron Quijano.