Johnson Soars To Texas Triumph


FORT WORTH, Texas — In his 300th career Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV feature start, Jason Johnson cruised to victory in the Port-a-Cool U.S. National Dirt Track Championships at the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track.

Starting sixth, Johnson rolled the high line early; jumping into third by lap three behind Travis Rilat and early leader Wayne Johnson. Grabbing the runner up spot the following lap, the Fisher Auto Body No. 41 began stalking Wayne Johnson as the pair began working into slower traffic.

Restarting on lap 10 following a caution for Kevin Swindell, who suffered a flat left-rear tire, Jason Johnson grabbed away the lead on the 13th round with a high side pass on the Missile Motorsports No. 77x.

Running into slower traffic, Wayne Johnson would see his disadvantage range from just under a second to as much as three seconds as the battle on the track saw Logan Forler in pursuit of Travis Rilat. Fighting for third, Forler and Rilat would battle off and on with Forler finally taking third on lap 18.

Going into the final 10 laps of the night’s 40-lap feature, Wayne Johnson would begin making up ground as Jason Johnson weaved in and out of traffic. Racing into the final three laps, the City Vending No. 77x would nearly see his night come to a close. Going for the slide job on the slower No. 45k of Kolt Walker the pair would touch exiting turn two with Walker going for a single head over heels flip.

Restarting with no slower cars between the No. 41 and the No. 77x, Wayne Johnson would try for the lead on the restart but Jason Johnson would not be denied his eleventh victory of the 2012 season.

Wayne Johnson crossed the line second with Logan Forler again holding off a late race charge from Travis Rilat to grab the final step on the podium. Travis Rilat grabbed fourth with Brady Bacon mounting an impressive charge from fourteenth to round out the top five.

The finish:

Jason Johnson, Wayne Johnson, Logan Forler, Travis Rilat, Brady Bacon, Johnny Herrera, Tony Bruce Jr., Seth Bergman, Dustin Morgan, Brad Loyet, Tommy Bryant, Danny Wood, Josh Baughman, Kolt Walker, Matt Covington, Kevin Ramey, Aaron Reutzel, Gary Wright, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Kevin Swindell, Martin Edwards, Wes Wofford, Koby Barksdale.