Johnson Grabs Point Lead With Elma Score

Jason Johnson won Saturday night's Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Series feature at Grays Harbor Raceway and moved into the series point lead. (ASCS photo)
Jason Johnson won Saturday night’s Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Series feature at Grays Harbor Raceway and moved into the series point lead. (ASCS photo)

ELMA, Wash. — The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real capped off the weekend at the Grays Harbor Raceway with Jason Johnson scoring his sixth victory of the season and retaking the point lead by three over Johnny Herrera.

A race of restarts, the caution flew on four occasions, giving Johnson the opportunity he needed to advance to the front of the field for his 74th tour victory.

“The restarts were the only place we were going to pass these guys,” said Johnson. “It was up around the top so it made for massive slide jobs. Logan Forler kept sliding me early on in the race and really, I didn’t want to get to sliding until the end of the race because I was trying to conserve tires as much as I could and as long as I could.”

Trailing Dustin Morgan on the start, Johnny Herrera crossed second after several fierce battles with Johnson for the lead.

“Our biggest thing is we just needed to get into some lapped cars,” said Herrera of the placement of cautions. “I ran a little harder left rear tire so I needed to get some heat to get that thing going and once it got going, it went good but the restarts took a lap or two to get the thing back underneath me.”

Reflecting on the fight with Johnson for the lead, Herrera said, “Hats off to Jason. I knew with him sitting in second, he was going to give me all I could handle, and he did. You know we had a good slidefes” there for couple laps but he gave me room, and I gave him room and that’s how two guys that do this race hard. You might crowd each other, but you don’t crash each other.”

Tony Bruce Jr. raced to third from seventh. Jeff Swindell crossed fourth after starting eighth with Seth Bergman completing the top five from ninth.

The finish:

Jason Johnson, Johnny Herrera, Tony Bruce Jr., Jeff Swindell, Seth Bergman, Brad Loyet, Steven Tiner, Dustin Morgan, Henry VanDam, Logan Forler, Colton Heath, Brandon Hahn, J.J. Hickle, Reece Goetz, Brent Hoover, Trey Starks, Cole Wood, Chadd Noland, Jared Peterson, Jay Cole, Roger Crockett, Travis Rilat.



Previous articleLichty Dominates Oswego ISMA Run
Next articleMunoz To Replace Injured Briscoe is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.