Johnson Claims Lexington ASCS Triumph

Jason Johnson suffered a fractured back during a crash Wednesday night at Placerville Speedway. (ASCS / Bryan Hulbert photo)
Jason Johnson stands in victory lane at the Lexington 104 Speedway in the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour's inaugural visit. (ASCS / Bryan Hulbert photo)
Jason Johnson stands in victory lane at the Lexington 104 Speedway in the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour’s inaugural visit. (ASCS / Bryan Hulbert photo)

LEXINGTON, Tenn. — All signs were that Brad Loyet was going to win at the Lexington 104 Speedway Saturday night with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real.

Instead, Jason Johnson claimed the victory after Loyet shredded a right-rear tire on lap 26.

“Hats off to the track crew, they really worked their tails off all day long,” Johnson said. “I got here about lunch time and these guys haven’t stopped.

“I think Brad probably had us covered to be quite honest,” continued Johnson. “He was setting a pretty fast pace out there but I could see his right-rear going down to be honest, and he kept getting balled up and going higher, and higher, over the curb and under that yellow I could see it was definitely going flat so I wanted to make sure I was in the opposite lane he was in.”

Johnny Herrera crossed second after having run third for the first seventeen laps until Jeff Swindell waned with the ignition system going south on the H&H No. 94. “We’ll take it; we just need to keep working hard. Running second to Jason, you know, we’re in a tight points battle so we can’t be finishing second but as long as we stay real close, within one or two positions, we’re going to have some go our way, and his way, but we’ll see what happens.”

After missing the draw for his heat, Tim Crawley at first had elected to not run but ultimately competed and made the best of the situation, coming from 10th to complete the podium.

“We don’t get to run with the national series much this year,” Crawley said. “I wish we could. I wish we had the funding to get out and do it full time again. You know to run in the top three, and top five with the national tour is definitely tough. Yea, I had some misfortune but we still had a great car.”

Logan Forler came from eighth to fourth with Dustin Morgan following from ninth to complete the top five.

The finish:

Jason Johnson, Johnny Herrera, Tim Crawley, Logan Forler, Dustin Morgan, Tony Bruce Jr., Seth Bergman, Brad Loyet, Jeff Swindell, Justin Webb, Anthony Nicholson, Randy Hibbs, Brian Bell, Jake Roach, Joey Moughan, Cole Wood, Brandon Hanks, Brandon Hahn.



Previous articleAlabama 200 Belongs To Chase Elliott
Next articleDarland Smacks ‘Em Down At Kokomo is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.