Jeff Swindell Rules Lone Star Region

Jeff Swindell

BOYD, Texas — It’s not about leading the most laps, just the last one as Jeff Swindell worked past Aaron Reutzel for his first ASCS sprint car score of the season, topping the Smiley’s Racing Products Lone Star Region at the Boyd Raceway.

Surviving two green-white-checkered attempts at the a finish, the Heartland Catfish No. 94 stalked Reutzel from the start. Finding the center groove rubbered near the halfway point, the field situated single file, giving Swindell the chance to run down the BC Funds No. 87.

With Sam Hafertepe Jr. in tow, the pair set sights on Reutzel in traffic.

A caution flag with two to go for the No. 18 of Tony Bruce Jr. the next attempt followed the red after Josh Baughman and Ryan Hall made contact, sending the No. 17x flipping down the front straightaway.

On the final restart, Reutzel dove low to block Swindell, but the smallest slip out of the groove was all it took for Swindell to grab the win. Hafertepe finished second with Kolt Walker also taking advantage to grab third. Reutzel slipped to fourth with Blake Hahn completing the top five.

The finish:

Jeff Swindell, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Kolt Walker, Aaron Reutzel, Blake Hahn, Johnny Herrera, Kevin Ramey, Shawn Petersen, Michael Lang, Patrick Stasa, John Carney II, Claud Estes III, Brandon Corn, Layne Himebaugh, Josh Baughman, Ryan Hall, Tony Bruce Jr., Justin Melton, Zane Lawrence, Tyson Hall.