Jeff Swindell Dances At Willamette

Jeff Swindell dances on top of his wing after winning Friday's Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Series feature at Oregon's Willamette Speedway. (ASCS photo)
Jeff Swindell dances on top of his wing after winning Friday’s Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Series feature at Oregon’s Willamette Speedway. (ASCS photo)

LEBANON, Ore. — For the third time in 2013, Jeff Swindell parked the MVT No. 94 in Lucas Oil ASCS victory lane, taking the lead on a lap-11 restart in Friday’s Protect the Harvest A-Main at the Willamette Speedway.

Drawing fourth, Swindell worked to the runner-up spot on lap three. Trailing the No. 05 of Brad Loyet, the pair worked into slower traffic early before the caution flew on Lap 8 for the spun No. 5 of Brian Boswell. The caution again waved on lap 11 for the spun No. 17w of Cole Wood.

Glued to the back bumper of Loyet’s Miller Truck Lines No. 05, Swindell dropped to the hub of the Willamette Speedway entering turn one, sliding across the nose of Loyet for the race lead to lead lap 12.

“The key was to be right on his back bumper at the flag stand,” said Swindell on the pass for the lead. “He beat me on the first one. I didn’t get the jump quick enough and with him going down to the bottom, and me going to the top on that restart it just goes back to if you don’t get the jump real quick, you’re not going to be with them.”

Loyet rode in the runner up spot until lap 22 before surrendering the position to fourteenth starting Johnny Herrera.

Finding the very thin strip of rubber, the Print Place No. 45x held off the hard charging Logan Forler for the runner-up finish.

“We knew we were going to have our work cut out for us starting fourteenth. You know the guys worked hard and probably, if it hadn’t taken rubber, we were going to run about seventh, or eighth with the way the racetrack was,” said Herrera. “You just had to wait for guys to make a mistake on the cushion.”

Logan Forler crossed third with Brad Loyet ending up fourth after leading the first 11 laps to take the final transfer into Saturday’s 30-lap Protect the Harvest feature event.

Jason Johnson salvaged his night with a fifth place after contact with the wall through turns one and two sent the Roush/Yates No. 41 from fourth eighth on lap 14.

The finish:

Jeff Swindell, Johnny Herrera, Logan Forler, Brad Loyet, Jason Johnson, Chadd Noland, Seth Bergman, Roger Crockett, Dustin Morgan, Shane Golobic, Henry VanDam, Tony Bruce Jr., Reece Goetz, Jake Waddell, Cole Wood, Brandon Hahn, Allison Journey, Shane Forte, Zack Spaulding, Kyle Miller, Brian Boswell, Brent Hoover.