It’s All Loyet At Golden Triangle

Brad Loyet only needs to survive this weekend's Lucas Oil ASCS events at Cocopah Speedway to claim the series championship. ( photo)
Brad Loyet won Friday night’s Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Series feature at Golden Triangle Raceway Park in Texas. ( photo)

BEAUMONT, Texas — Everything went Brad Loyet’s way Friday night as the Missouri racer earned the FSR Radiator High Point award, drew the pole and led all 30 laps at the Golden Triangle Raceway Park for his second career Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real National Tour victory.

After a pair of starts to get the night’s feature event going saw Jason Johnson spinning and Seth Bergman snap a left-front Radius Rod following contact with an infield tire, the red displayed on lap two as Jeff Swindell and Aaron Reutzel flip nearly half the length of the back straightaway.

On the restart, Loyet immediately began working the hub of the racing surface, never leaving the bottom groove to keep outside starting Ray Allen Kulhanek at bay to become the fifth different winner in six Protect the Harvest features this year.

“I never thought about trying that. Maybe if I’d seen someone up there but we were just rotating really good on the bottom all night long,” said Loyet. “You know we struggled out west and brought the car back to the shop, put it up on scales, and Rick and Tim England worked their butts off trying to get this car to work and we got it working good tonight.”

Settling for the runner-up spot, Ray Allen Kulhanek posted his best finish to date against the national tour. The three-time Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region champion also kept to the bottom line for the duration of the feature.

“We definitely wanted to win but Brad (Loyet) had a hell of a car tonight,” he said. “There wasn’t anything I could really do with him. Even when we got to lapped cars all I could do was sneak up on him.”

Working multiple lines, Johnny Herrera posted his second podium finish of the season with a third-place run in the Print Place No. 45x. Herrera was followed closely by Johnson who drove the MVT No. 41 from 23rd following his opening lap spin with Matt Covington completing the top five.

The finish:

Brad Loyet, Ray Allen Kulhanek, Johnny Herrera, Jason Johnson, Matt Covington, Logan Forler, Channin Tankersley, Travis Rilat, Kolt Walker, Tyson Hall, Brandon Berryman, Josh Baughman, Cole Wood, Travis Elliott, J.J. Simmons, Beau Smith, Tony Bruce Jr., John Carney II, Seth Bergman, Dustin Morgan, Aaron Reutzel, Jeff Swindell, Sam Hafertepe Jr.


Previous articleBruce Litton Is Still An IHRA Ironman
Next articleGolobic Is Surprise WoO Sprint Victor is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.