It’s All Jason Johnson At Billings

Jason Johnson in victory lane at Billings Motorsports Park in Montana. (ASCS photo)
Jason Johnson in victory lane at Billings Motorsports Park in Montana. (ASCS photo)

BILLINGS, Mon. — After rain forced the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real to delay the series debut at the Billings Motorsports Park from Monday until Tuesday, Jason Johnson parked the MVT No. 41 in victory lane for the fifth time this year.

Marking his 73rd Protect the Harvest A-Feature win, Johnson worked from sixth for the Billings score on a multi-grooved track prepared by racing legend Jimmy Sills and BMP owner Mike Quigley.

“If you were going to run around the bottom, you had to run right around the tires and you defiantly had to hit your marks.” said Johnson about his low groove pass for the lead. “These Stenhouse Motorsports guys dialed this Maxim chassis in and it was a dream to drive. It was really fun.”

Advancing to third by lap four behind Brad Loyet and Logan Forler, the race’s first cautions came back to back; first for the stalled No. 23n of Brock Lemley and then stopped No. 72 of Phil Dietz who would return after the red flew for the No. 2 of Kyle Evans who slammed the wall with four laps still completed. All drivers were OK.

The restart would position Logan Forler to the outside line of the Billings Motorsports Park, where the pass for the lead came on lap six exiting turn four.

Immediately diving to the bottom to prevent Loyet from building a run, Forler would begin pulling his advantage as Johnson worked to the runner up spot on lap 10.

Running down slower traffic, Forler raced to the back of the field on lap 11. Closing the gap in an instant, a hesitation on the part of Forler on lap 13 allowed Johnson the opportunity. Committing to the bottom groove entering turn three, Johnson shot to the lead.

From there, slower traffic would play to Johnson’s favor as the race went the remaining distance caution free. Logan Forler crossed 4.545 seconds behind Johnson with Jeff Swindell coming from eighth to keep his streak of podium finishes alive at eight.

Brad Loyet slipped to fourth with Johnny Herrera climbing from 10th to complete the top five.

The finish:

Jason Johnson, Logan Forler, Jeff Swindell, Brad Loyet, Johnny Herrera, Tony Bruce Jr., Joe Frazier, Seth Bergman, Reece Goetz, Kelly Miller, Cole Wood, Dustin Morgan, Phil Dietz, David Hoiness, Brandon Hahn, Joe Perry, Trever Kirkland, Randi Miller, Jeremy McCune, Brock Lemley, Wheeler Boys, Kyle Evans.

Previous articleThomas Tops UMP Modified Foes
Next articleBrett Hearn Wins His Own Race is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.