Hickle Invades Montana Dirt


GREAT FALLS, Mont. — For the second straight night, someone from outside the state of Montana picked up his first victory in Big Sky Country, as Washington’s J.J. Hickle led all 25 laps to win the ASCS Frontier Region sprint car main event in the final night of the 20th annual Montana Round-Up at Electric City Speedway on Sunday.

Though Hickle hails from the Evergreen State, the car he drove to victory was based locally in Great Falls. Starting on the pole, Hickle held off series point leader Joe Ramaker and made his way through traffic to earn the victory aboard the Peterson Racing No. 23n Ostrich-powered Rocket. With the team being from Great Falls, the win was popular with local fans.

Hickle, who currently sits second in the point standings for the ASCS Northwest Region, had only raced in Montana on a few other occasions before this weekend, including driving his own car at Electric City Speedway during the Frontier Region’s two-day season opener in May. Driving for Richie Peterson, Hickle had finishes of eighth on Friday and seventh on Saturday during the Montana Round-Up before finding victory lane Sunday.

“We had a really good car. It could go anywhere we wanted it,” said Hickle, regarding racing with Ramaker and dealing with traffic in a car that he had not driven before Friday night. “It was a matter of hitting your marks and picking the right time to make your moves. I hope to stay with this team awhile and improve more. I had fun.”
The finish:

J.J. Hickle, Joe Ramaker, Joe Beaver, Phil Dietz, Casey Adams, Kelly Miller, Joe Perry, Dave Glennon, Jeremy McCune, Dennis MacEachern, Vernon Hill, David Hoiness, Jerry Brey, Damon McCune, Tristan Spiers, Steve Nelson, Chris Roberts, Bill Boyce, Gregory Hamilton, Bryan Brown.

Previous articleCourtney Breaks Through At Angell Park
Next articleStanbrough Wires Field At Tri-State
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.