Herrera Hustles At Devil’s Bowl

Johnny Herrera in victory lane Saturday night at Devil's Bowl Speedway. (Tim Aylwin photo)
Johnny Herrera in victory lane Saturday night at Devil’s Bowl Speedway. (Tim Aylwin photo)

MESQUITE, Texas — Round two of the 2013 Sizzlin’ Summer Speedweek took the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real to the half-mile Devil’s Bowl Speedway where Johnny Herrera picked up his third victory of the season.

Herrera drew the pacer’s position in Saturday’s 30-lap Protect the Harvest A-Feature and led the distance.

Challenged coming off turn four for the win by Jeff Swindell, the pair crossed .333 seconds apart. Asked about Swindell closing in so quickly, Herrera explained, “I just started taking it easy there with five to go. I had been running the cushion, and was better there, but had to run a lap on the bottom and got a little cautions, not a lot, but slowed myself down.”

Shaking his head about the final lap, Herrera continued, “I’ll know better next time, instead of running 25 laps real hard, I better run the all.”

Swindell’s runner-up finish is his second in as many days. Coming from fourth, Swindell advanced to the runner-up position on lap 10 with the low line pass on Brad Loyet.

“It was really good on the bottom but the bad thing about the bottom is if you missed just a little bit boy it cost you dearly,” Swindell said.

The final step on the podium was graced by Brad Loyet.

Having to rebuild the car after a late race crash the night before, Loyet was pleased with his run, “This is the best I’ve been at the Devil’s Bowl. This place isn’t the easiest place to drive on. It’s been a pretty challenging couple weeks but it all came back together.”

Friday night winner Jason Johnson came from 11th to fourth with Tony Bruce, Jr. posting the season’s highest PitStopUSA.com Hard Charger of the Night sum, advancing 18 spots from his provisional 23rd-place start.

Sean Jones won the companion late model feature and Russell Trevathan topped the USA modified race.

The finish:

Johnny Herrera, Jeff Swindell, Brad Loyet, Jason Johnson, Tony Bruce Jr., Travis Rilat, Kyle Sager, Matt Covington, Ray Allen Kulhanek, Seth Bergman, Logan Forler, Kolt Walker, Cole Wood, Joshua Hodges, Patrick Stasa, Danny Jennings, Brandon Hahn, Zach Pringle, Channin Tankersley, Dustin Morgan, John James, Larry Howery, Josh Baughman.



Previous articleDaum Ends Slump At Lawrenceburg
Next articleVanDoorn Masters Battle At Berlin
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.