It’s Hafertepe’s $15,000 Dirt Cup Score

Sam Hafertepe Jr. and Skagit Speedway promoter Steve Beitler are joined on the Dirt Cup podium by Aaron Reutzel and Roger Crockett. (Lisa Dynes photo)

ALGER, Wash. — When Sam Hafertepe Jr. finished the job Saturday night at Skagit Speedway only seven cars were left on the lead lap during the 46th annual Jim Raper Memorial Dirt Cup presented by the Skagit Casino and Hotel.

“Man, I just had to take a second and collect my thoughts on what we did,” Hafertepe explained. “We went from looking like a rookie on Thursday night to dominating the field the last two nights. It’s a testament to the hard work we put in. Most guys don’t realize the hours we put into this. I like to have fun as anybody, and all these boys in the Pits know it, but when it comes to this hotrod here, there’s nothing second to it.”

Going on to thank his sponsors and crew, Hafertepe also gave a special thanks to Skagit Speedway owner Steve Beitler.

“I just think you guys need to appreciate Steve Beitler more,” he added. “He works his ass off to get this place right. We may have had a bad track on Thursday, but he put countless hours in and got us a track that was right on the fence, and you can’t ask for any more than that. There isn’t a lot of $15,000 to win 360 races, and he does a hell of a job so hats off to him.”

Collecting his second $15,000 Dirt Cup payday in as many years, Hafertepe’s ninth win of the season with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network surpasses his overall win total from 2016 by one, and brings his series total to 24 since 2010.

Hafertepe beat Aaron Reutzel to the checkered flag by 4.789 seconds. Roger Crockett finished third with Jason Solwold and Blake Hahn rounding out the top five.

The finish:

Sam Hafertepe Jr., Aaron Reutzel, Roger Crockett, Jason Solwold, Blake Hahn, Matt Covington, Colton Heath, Seth Bergman, Johnny Herrera, Wayne Johnson, Travis Rilat, Austen Wheatley, Craig Dollansky, Eric Fisher, Skylar Gee, Logan Forler, Chase Goetz, Bud Ashe, Garen Linder, Trey Starks, Chris Schmelzle, Reece Goetz.