Gile Romps To Desert Glory

Dennis Gile (Ben Thrasher photo)

QUEEN CREEK, Ariz. — Capturing his fourth career victory with the San Tan Ford ASCS Desert Non-Wing Series, Dennis Gile utilized a mid-race caution for the race-winning pass at Arizona Speedway on Saturday night.

Rolling from seventh, Gile shot to the runner-up spot by the second lap. Chasing Stevie Sussex, the No. 12 had pulled the field by over three seconds before the caution on lap 15 brought Dennis Gile into the mix with the No. 13 taking the point on lap 18.

Steadily pulling away over the closing laps, Gile crossed the line with 2.273 seconds to spare. Making moves in the closing laps, Josh Castro made it to second with Stevie Sussex slipping to third. Dustin Burkhart and Bruce St. James completed the top five.

The finish:

Feature (25 Laps): 1. 13-Dennis Gile[7]; 2. 4T-Josh Castro[2]; 3. 12-Stevie Sussex[1]; 4. 34AZ-Dustin Burkhart[9]; 5. 7K-Bruce St James[6]; 6. 17-Joe Scheopner[15]; 7. 3M-Tyler Most[16]; 8. 0-Jonas Reynolds[10]; 9. 7-Shon Deskins[4]; 10. 7X-Ryan Murphy[19]; 11. 22G-Aaron Jones[8]; 12. 3-Pete Yerkovich[20]; 13. 72-AJ Hernandez[18]; 14. 88-Philip Deeney[13]; 15. (DNF) 7OH-Bryan Ledbetter Jr[17]; 16. (DNF) 9-John Shelton[14]; 17. (DNF) 51-Ronald Webster[11]; 18. (DNF) 25AZ-Rick Shuman[12]; 19. (DNF) 2-Joshua Shipley[3]; 20. (DNS) 9X-Randy Nelson