From Fender-Bender To Victory Lane


MESQUITE, Texas — The 41st annual Devil’s Bowl Summer Nationals saw 36 drivers with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real in attendance, but it was Seth Bergman who led every lap.

Bergman’ss third overall ASCS National Tour triumph, the victory was a far cry from how the Washington driver’s day began; getting into a fender bender on the way to the track.

“I can’t take this grin off my face,” said Bergman. “After getting into a car accident on the way here with the truck and trailer, we just had to shake it off. Me and my guy looked at each other and said well; at least we got the accident out the way. We can go win this thing now.”

And win he did, taking off from the pole, Bergman led flag-to-flag after getting the jump on outside front row starting Tony Bruce Jr.

Left to battle with Blake Hahn, the pair chased each other through slower traffic with Bruce holding the runner up spot until mechanical problems sent the Oil Medics No. 18 to the pits on lap 21.

Hahn would hold on to the runner up spot, matching his career best finish with the National Tour that happened on Oct. 10, 2012 at the Lone Star Speedway in Kilgore, Texas.

“I hated to see Tony go out like that. I really would have rather raced him for position but getting second with the national boys is awesome. I needed this,” Hahn said. “I’m not a fan of big tracks and the Devil’s Bowl has not been very friendly to me in the past so I’ll take a second here any day.”

Tim Crawley posted his 118th career Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour podium finish, doing so in the John James owned No. 4J.

Aaron Reutzel and Jason completed the top five.

The finish:

Seth Bergman, Blake Hahn, Tim Crawley, Aaron Reutzel, Jason Johnson, Jeff Swindell, Dustin Morgan, Brad Loyet, Johnny Herrera, Josh Baughman, Sam Hafertepe Jr., John Carney II, Brandon Hanks, Danny Jennings, Kolt Walker, Joe Wood Jr., Tony Bruce Jr., Matt Covington, Ray Allen Kulhanek, Travis Rilat, Martin Edwards, Harli White.