Forler Cruises To Ark-La-Tex Score

Logan Forler won Sunday night's ASCS Speedweek event at Ark-La-Tex Speedway. (Tim Aylwin photo)
Logan Forler won Sunday night’s ASCS Speedweek event at Ark-La-Tex Speedway. (Tim Aylwin photo)

VIVIAN, La. — A mid-afternoon shower gave way to clear skies on Father’s Day at the Ark-La-Tex Speedway as fans witnessed Washington native, turned Arizona resident, Logan Forler park his Steve Forler Trucking No. 2L in victory lane in the National Tour debut at the Louisiana quarter-mile oval.

His second career victory with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real, Forler became the ninth winner of the season advancing past Jason Johnson on Lap 12 by using slower traffic as a way to block the MVT No. 41 from returning in kind.

“We got into lapped traffic and that was my only way to get by Jason (Johnson) because Jason was rolling pretty good. Well, Jason’s always rolling pretty good” said a tired, albeit excited Logan Forler. “It’s an honor to pass that No. 41 car for the lead. Salina last year about this time he passed me for the lead with about five to go. I’ve learned a lot from Jason, and that was one thing I learned right there, and it worked.”

The top groove of the Ark-La-Tex Speedway proved to be the fast way around as Johnson topped the track from his pole starting position within the first two corners. Crossing the line second, Johnson was chased by sixth starting Jeff Swindell.

“That’s part of racing when you’re leading a race and not sure where to go” said Johnson of Forler’s pass for the win. “One thing about running second is when you get to lapped cars, when the leader goes one way, you go the other.”

Swindell’s third podium finish in as many days has given the H&H No. 94 a boost back into the top five, from seventh, is series standings. “These guys deserve it” speaking of the Hammers family and crew who back the No. 94. “You know they’ve been great guys to work with, they’ve been great to us and they understand the trials and tribulations you go through to get a fairly new team back together.”

The top five rounded out with Channin Tankersley and Tony Bruce Jr.

The finish:

Logan Forler, Jason Johnson, Jeff Swindell, Channin Tankersley, Tony Bruce Jr., Seth Bergman, Dustin Morgan, Brad Loyet, Blake Hahn, Zach Pringle, Johnny Herrera, Cole Wood, Harli White, Morgan Montgomery, Koty Adams, Mark Huddleston, Charlie McDonald, Ray Allen Kulhanek, Brandon Hahn, Larry Howery, Ryan Beechler, Josh Baughman.