Forler Claims Northwest Speedweek Finale


COTTAGE GROVE, Ore. – Logan Forler claimed the final round of ASCS Northwest Speedweek Saturday night at Cottage Grove Speedway while Kyle Hirst locked up the week-long championship.

The only things that would really slow down Forler would be the handful of cautions that would occur during the course of the 35-lap feature as well as some heavy lapped traffic. Forler would make some key passes in lapped traffic to create some separation from the rest of the field as he would lead the entire distance of the main event.

It marked the first ASCS Northwest win for Forler and his Steve Forler Trucking/P.G.H. Excavating/Lucas Oil Products/Rod Ends by LRD Race Products No. 2L Maxim team at CGS and his first win with the series since September of 2011.

β€œLast night I kind of messed up I got passed there with a few to go,” said Forler. β€œI woke up this morning knowing that I was going to do everything I could to make sure I won. There was a lot of lapped traffic that was hard to get around but you just had to time it right and keep your nose clean.”

Finishing in second and putting Forler under pressure a few times was Colin Baker. Grabbing third in the closing stages of the race was Hirst, followed by Henry Van Dam and Jonathan Allard.

When all of the points were calculated Hirst would be crowned the overall Northwest Speedweek champion in 2014 and the first Californian to win the title since 2011 when Kyle Larson did it with the very same team.

The finish:

Logan Forler, Colin Baker, Kyle Hirst, Henry Van Dam, Jonathan Allard, Trey Starks, Steven Tiner, Garen Linder, Reece Goetz, Jayme Barnes, J.J. Hickle, Mitchell Faccinto, Allison Journey, Kelly Miller, Seth Nunes, Colby Carter, Daniel Anderson, Wayne Kniffen, Kyle Miller, Jared Ridge.