Eagle Nationals Saturday For ASCS Sprints


TULSA, Okla. – The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real returns to competition this weekend with the series third trip to the Salina Speedway in Salina, Kan, tonight followed by the much anticipated return to the Eagle Raceway for the Hinchman Racewear Eagle Nationals presented by TBJ Promotions on Saturday.

In two starts at the Salina Speedway, two drivers have emerged victorious. In the series inaugural visit in 2012, Kevin Swindell picked up his first Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour victory. The 2013 visit saw Seth Bergman taking the checkered flag for his second career triumph with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour.

Last visited in 2012, the Eagle Nationals looks to out run Mother Nature in 2014, after the track flooded out in 2013.

Brady Bacon in the defending champion of the Eagle Nationals. A two-day event in 2012, Bacon swept the weekend. The Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour first graced the clay of the one-third mile oval on June 11, 2010 with Danny Wood topping the field. Jason Johnson joined the list of winners the following night with Jack Dover adding his name on June 11, 2011.

Jason Johnson carries the field of National Tour drivers into the weekend with an 11 point margin over Brad Loyet. Winless in National Tour competition, Johnson has consistency on his side with six top ten finishes in seven starts. Johnson does have two ASCS 360cid Region victories to his credit in 2014, most recently this past Sunday at the Double X Speedway.

Loyet has been able to make up ground with four top fives to Johnson’s one.

Johnny Herrera sits third, 33 points from the lead with Sam Hafertepe, Jr. fourth. The difference between the pair for the third spot is five makers with the pair each posting one top five, and five top tens’ so far this season.

Herrera and Hafertepe were both in action this past weekend with the Gulf South Region with Herrera picking up a pair of wins. While Hafertepe showed great speed, luck was not on the side of the Texas veteran.

The top five rounds out with Jeff Swindell who has amassed 796 points this season to stay within 40 points of the championship standings.

Aaron Reutzel’s two wins at the I-30 Speedway on April 12, and Outlaw Motorsports Park on May 2 have positioned the Clute, Texas driver sixth with things tied up going into this weekend with Tony Bruce, Jr. who topped the field at the Devil’s Bowl Speedway on March 21.

Seth Bergman enters the weekend on a hot streak after sweeping ASCS Regional competition at the Cottage Grove Speedway this past weekend, and returns to the Salina Speedway as the defending champion of the event.

Matt Covington and ASCS National Tour Rookie, Blake Hahn, complete the top ten with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour.

Both nights of racing will be co-sanctioned with the Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region with Jack Dover currently leading the series standings.

Previous articleJohnson Back On Track Heading To Dover
Next articleKERCHNER: The Heat Race
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.