Dominant Reutzel Claims Gulf South Finale


BAYTOWN, Texas —To say that Aaron Reutzel won the Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South season finale at Royal Purple Raceway would be an understatement.

Taking the lead from the drop of the green, the No. 17r utilized the high line; wasting little time opening up a sizable advantage. Despite begin slowed for five cautions during the night’s 30-lap, $3,000-to-win feature event the Clute, Texas, racer managed to leave only four cars on the led lap when all was said and done.

Leaving the field to battle for second, the No. 15h of Sam Hafertepe Jr. and No.15t of Travis Elliot fought most the race with Hafertepe taking the runnerup spot before being disqualified at the scales for begin to light.

Elliot was credited with second with Michael McNeil taking the final step on the podium.

Ray Allen Kulhanek grabbed fourth along with the 2012 Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Championship while Brandon Berryman rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Aaron Reutzel, Travis Elliott, Michael McNeil, Ray Allen Kulhanek, Brandon Berryman, Beau Smith, Larry Howery, Klint Angelette, Tommy Bryant, Chris Sweeney, Koby Barksdale, Scottie McDonald, Greg Rilat, Roger Oakes, Brandie Jass, Jerry Bell, J.J. Simmons, Michael Lang, Channin Tankersley, Chris Bell, Travis Rilat, Logan Bledsoe, Sam Hafertepe Jr., John Pate.




Previous articleOrtega Romps In Canyon Sprints
Next articleEdwards Aces Anderson Supers is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.