D.J. Netto Banks $5,000 Copper Classic

D.J. Netto (ASCS photo)

QUEEN CREEK, Ariz. — Sweet redemption was on tap for California’s D.J. Netto Saturday night at Arizona Speedway.

After failing to finish Friday’s Copper Classic Opener, Netto drove his No. 88n to a $5,000 triumph in the season finale for the ASCS Southwest Region, winning the event for the second consecutive season.

Taking the green flag from the pole, Netto worked side by side with Willie Croft through the opening lap with Netto working the cushion of the Arizona Speedway to the race lead as the pair began the second revolution.

Getting into traffic in the first five laps, Netto maintained a half straight advantage with the race continuing under green as the halfway point came and went.

Still mired in traffic, it did little to slow the No. 88n as the advantage over Croft grew to just over a straightaway.

Rolling to five laps to run, Croft’s hold on second was under fire as Justin Sanders stole the position away for a moment before getting stalled by a group of slower cars, allowing Croft to turn down the track to reclaim the runner-up spot.

Caution on lap 21 for Jesse Baker who came to a stop in turns one and two, Netto brought the single-file line past the cone with slower cars in the mix that kept Croft from mounting a charge.

Completing lap 23, the caution flew again as Willie Croft’s right-rear tire exploded off the second turn.

Restarting with his right rear committed to the cushion, Netto held off any low side charges to punch his ticket to victory lane. Battling hard with Colby Copeland through the final two laps, Justin Sanders wheeled the low line to second in Bob Ream Jr.’s No. 8 with Copeland settling for the final podium step.

Taking the win Friday night, Oklahoma’s Christopher Bell would cross fourth with Colton Hardy fifth to secure his first ASCS Southwest Regional Championship.

The finish:

D.J. Netto, Justin Sanders, Colby Copeland, Christopher Bell, Colton Hardy, Reece Goetz, Giovanni Scelzi, Tanner Carrick, Chase Goetz, Nick Parker, Dominic Scelzi, Josh Shipley, J.T. Imperial, Lance Norick, Rick Ziehl, Jesse Baker, Dave Darland, Cody Sickles, Willie Croft, Royal Jones, Steve Stone, Billy Chester III.