Crockett Uses Traffic To Claim Tucson Prize

Roger Crockett in victory lane Saturday at Tucson Int'l Raceway. (Tim Aylwin photo)
Roger Crockett in victory lane Saturday at Tucson Int’l Raceway. (Tim Aylwin photo)

TUCSON, Ariz. — Utilizing slower traffic in the later running of the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real feature, Roger Crockett found his way to his third career National Tour victory, and first at Tucson Int’l Raceway.

“I just saw him (Brian Brown) start to get tight later in the race and I’d seen where he tried to go high around lapped cars before so I knew that was my shot,” said Crockett.

With the victory, Crockett elaborated on the coming weekend in Yuma and the momentum gained over the weekend in Tucson.

“We have a lot of momentum going into next week in Yuma, you know we had a pretty rough start there last year and got things going pretty good the second night and got more momentum but right now the cars better than it’s ever been,” he said.

Drawing the No. 2 pill for the feature, Crockett started alongside Brian Brown with Brown jumping to the point at the green.

Stopping for a lap-two red flag that saw Brandon Hahn flipping after contact with an infield tire, Brown continued to set the pace with Crockett in tow. As Brown worked to extend his lead, slower traffic would come into play on lap seven; giving Crockett a chance at the lead with Jeff Swindell closing to battle for the runnerup spot.

Able to work to a clear track, Brown distanced himself to a half straight-a-way before traffic again became a factor with Crockett and Swindell once again pulling within striking distance before the Casey’s General Store No. 21 cleared the surrounding drivers.

With the race seemingly in hand, Brown raced to the final five laps with everything going his way. Working the hub of the Tucson Int’l Raceway, Brown once again found himself surrounded by slower cars with Crockett working the cushion and closing in.

Coming around to complete lap 27, Brown would be forced off the bottom of the track, leaving the bottom groove open for Crockett to diamond the entrance of turn one for the pass on Brown; taking the top spot exiting turn two.

Crockett took the victory with Brown and Swindell completing the podium. Christopher Bell raced from ninth to fourth with Tony Bruce Jr. fifth.

The finish:

Roger Crockett, Brian Brown, Jeff Swindell, Christopher Bell, Tony Bruce Jr., Johnny Herrera, Willie Croft, Danny Wood, Wayne Johnson, Lucas Wolfe, Jason Johnson, Seth Bergman, Joshua Hodges, Justyn Cox, Brad Loyet, Cole Wood, Rick Ziehl, Shawn Petersen, Josh Baughman, Lorne Wofford, Dustin Morgan, Kaylene Verville, Brandon Hahn.