Covington Conquers Devil’s Bowl


MESQUITE, Texas — Defending Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region champion Matt Covington took on Devil’s Bowl Speedway wickedly fast and famous half-mile oval Saturday night.

The Glenpool, Okla., native led all 25 laps in wire to wire fashion en route to his first Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star triumph of the season.

While the winner’s purse went to Covington, it was Mesquite’s hometown warrior Martin Edwards who stole the show.

Starting the 25 lap main event in the 17th spot, Edwards charged valiantly through the field and was gaining ground fast on the leader before running out of time.

Covington crossed the finish line for the 25th time with breathing room to take the 25-lap Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region victory aboard the Wesmar powered OEM and T&L Foundry sponsored No. 11c XXX Chassis.

Edwards finished second while Claude Estes, John Carney and Michael Lang rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Matt Covington, Martin Edwards, Claud Estes III, John Carney, Michael Lang, Logan Payne, Andy Shouse, Dale Wester, Justin Melton, Seth Bergman, George White, Evan Pardo, Larry Howery, John Ricketts, Derek Weaver, Koby Barksdale, Raven Culp, Kevin Barksdale, Robert Byrom, Gavin Punch, Shawn Mize.