Cornell Secures Warrior Title With Victory

Jonathan Cornell won the 2012 ASCS Warrior Region sprint car championship. (Ken Simon photo)
Jonathan Cornell won Friday night’s ASCS Warrior sprint car feature and wrapped up the series championship in the process. (Ken Simon photo)

GRAIN VALLEY, Mo. — Jonathan Cornell left no doubts when the checkered flag fell Friday night at Valley Speedway, taking the victory and securing his first Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region Championship.

Leading from start to finish, the Kiowa Line Builders No. 28 survived the ruts en-route to victory ahead of three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion Tony Stewart who gridded seventh.

Jay Russell took the lowest step on the podium with Miranda Arnold ending her season on a high note with a fourth-place finish. Mitchell Moore rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Jonathan Cornell, Tony Stewart, Jay Russell, Miranda Arnold, Mitchell Moore, Cody Baker, Alan Ambers, Brad Ryun, Jon Corbin, Tyler Blank, Randy Roberts, Andrew Turley, Kyle Bellm, Randy Hibbs, Lanny Carpenter, David Langford, Zachary Sanders.