Cornell Rules Double X Sprint

Last night's winner Jonathan Cornell battles Curtis Boyer (72) in 2013 at Double X Speedway in Missouri. (Ken Simon photo)
Jonathan Cornell battles Curtis Boyer (72) Sunday night at Double X Speedway in Missouri. (Ken Simon photo)

CALIFORNIA, Mo. — It is only fitting that a VKCC Motorsports backed car should make it to victory lane on Sunday as the Double X Speedway hosted its annual Tribute to Jesse Hockett with Jonathan Cornell wiring the 30-lap feature with the Speedway Motors Warrior Region.

Staying to the high side of the quarter mile oval, Cornell topped the Martin family on the podium with Randy and Evan Martin gracing the remaining steps. Tyler Blank and Russ Hall made up the top five.

Phil Heavelow won the lightning sprint feature and Derek Hensen topped the street stock race. Gage Wineland aced the hobby stock class.

The finish:

Jonathan Cornell, Randy Martin, Evan Martin, Tyler Blank, Russ Hall, Cody Baker, Jason Johnson, Bryan Grimes, Adam Jones, Kevin Whitworth, Curtis Evans, Curtis Boyer, Jay Russell, Casey Baker, Lanny Carpenter, Matt Close, Trevor (T.J.) Muths, Tyler Elliott, J.R. Topper, Brad Graham, A.J. Wirts