Billy Chester III Stars In Copper Classic

Billy Chester III won Friday's Copper Classic sprint car feature at Arizona Speedway. (David Sink photo)

QUEEN CREEK, Ariz. — A wild night at the races ended with Billy Chester III standing atop the podium with the Carlyle Tools ASCS Southwest Region to kick off the Copper Classic at Arizona Speedway.

Leading the final four laps of Friday’s $2,000 to win preliminary feature, the road to the top was a bumpy one as Chester gridded the field eighth. Giving chase as Oklahoma’s Christopher Bell jumped to the lead in the Buffalo Wild Wings No. 82, Bell was challenged on the eighth round by Aaron Reutzel.

Taking the top spot, the lead was short lived as Aaron made contact with the wall along the backstretch.

Shredding the right rear of Reutzel’s machine, the flying chunks of Hoosier sent Bell pit side as well. Bell was able to continue after the crew reattached a dislodged plug wire.

Handing the lead to Colby Copeland, the No. 18w looked to be en route to victory before his night ended in spectacular fashion along the frontstretch. Colby was unharmed in the crash involving lapped traffic.

Inheriting the lead, Chester found himself stalked by Christopher Bell.

Having fought back from the tail of the field, Bell took several shots at the point, but would be denied the victory as Chester crossed 0.883 seconds to the good for his third career victory with the Carlyle Tools ASCS Southwest Region. Bell would settle for second with Washington’s Reece Goetz taking the final podium step.

Locking the top-four into Saturday’s $5,000 to win finale, Rick Ziehl grabbed the final transfer spot. Chase Goetz completed the top five from 17th.

Shon Deskins won the companion non-winged sprint car feature.

The finish:

Billy Chester III, Christopher Bell, Reece Goetz, Rick Ziehl, Chase Goetz, Colton Hardy, James Aragon, Jeremy McCune, Garen Linder, Alex Pettas, Cody Sickles, Royal Jones, Josh Shipley, Michael Kofoid, Colby Copeland, Jake Helsel, D.J. Netto, John Carney II, Aaron Reutzel, Lance Norick, Jesse Baker, Brian Boswell.