Carney Dominates El Paso 305s


EL PASO, Texas — While the most of the country is in the dead of winter, a dozen ASCS 305cid drivers took to the sandy clay of the El Paso Speedway Park for $1,000 to win on Saturday with John Carney II taking the DGS Motorsports No. 74B to his tenth victory in MVT West Texas ASCS 305 ci competition.

Earning the pole of the night’s 25- lap feature, Carney jumped to the point at the start and left all but one a lap down.

Third-starting Royal Jones denied Carney the perfect record of lapping the field off the final turn with Wes Wofford on the final podium step from sixth. Mike Wells and Rick Lovelady completed the top five.

The finish:

John Carney II, Royal Jones, Wes Wofford, Mike Wells, Rick Lovelady, Cesar Fuentes, Jerry Gonzalez, Lorne Wofford, Don Reynolds, Tyler Jackson, Derek Demartino, Anton Salopek.