Bruce Wins From 13th In Muskogee


MUSKOGEE, Okla. — A blown engine, a flip, and an overall terrible night the first three nights of Speedweek all turned around for Tony Bruce Jr. on Friday night, coming from 13th to win at the Outlaw Motorsports Park with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real.

The fourth winner in as many nights of the 2014 Bob Westphal Memorial Cup ASCS Speedweek, Bruce worked past racelong leader Brad Loyet with three laps to run for his second score of the 2014 season.

“We’ve had a terrible Speedweek to say the least,” Bruce said. “Had a motor failure at Devil’s Bowl, got upside down at Lawton and just looked like a complete idiot last night; luckily, I don’t look like an idiot here tonight.”

Battling early with Jeff Swindell for the lead, Brad Loyet held the point but unfortunately, a spark plug wire worked loose on the Vacuworx No. 05, putting Loyet on seven cylinders in the closing laps after originally fearing the engine was going flat.

“On that one restart, I’m sure everyone heard a different tone in the engine. Just lost a spark plug wire. I guess it’s pretty good to run second and not get passed until three to go when running on seven cylinders,” said Loyet.

Jason Johnson worked to the final podium step after starting sixth in the Curb Records No. 41.

“We were committed to the top,” Johnson said. “When Tony found the bottom and was getting the moisture off the bottom, I tried it once or twice but just couldn’t get a good run so we stayed up top, then with about two to go, we started running out of fuel and were just trying to hang on.”

Johnny Herrera rolled up to fourth from eighth and Jeff Swindell finished fifth.

The finish:

Tony Bruce Jr., Brad Loyet, Jason Johnson, Johnny Herrera, Jeff Swindell, Dustin Morgan, Seth Bergman, Tim Crawley, Aaron Reutzel, Matt Covington, Blake Hahn, Alex Sewell, Harli White, Brandon Hanks, Christopher Bell, Sam Hafertepe Jr., Wayne Johnson, Mike Goodman, Danny Wood, Jake Martens, Zach Pringle, Shane Sellers.



Previous articleO’Neal Runs Down Overton At Cherokee
Next articleSchatz Claims 153rd WoO Victory is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.