Brown Romps From 10th To First In Tucson

Brian Brown won Friday night's Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series opener at Arizona's Tucson Int'l Raceway. (Tim Aylwin photo)
Brian Brown won Friday night’s Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series opener at Arizona’s Tucson Int’l Raceway. (Tim Aylwin photo)

TUCSON, Ariz. — On a very cool Arizona night, Brian Brown parked the Casey’s General Store No. 21 in victory lane on night one of the Old Pueblo Classic presented by Print Place at the Tucson Int’l Raceway.

Charging from 10th in the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real event , Brown said the drastic change in the track from the start of the night to the feature saying, “it was awesome.”

Brown admitted his start was not as good as it could have been and in fact put him behind the eight ball.

“I fell to about 15th or 16th,” said Brown. “I messed up on the start and got high but I just need to thank everyone with this Casey’s General Store, FVP entry. This has a Charlie Garrett engine that Don Long provided from Searsboro Telephone and we really want to thank him because we’ve really got some power now and that’s what it’s going to take to out run these guys night in, and night out.”

Johnny Herrera finished second with Roger Crockett racing from eighth to finish third. Jeff Swindell and Wayne Johnson rounded out the top five.

The finish:

Brian Brown, Johnny Herrera, Roger Crockett, Jeff Swindell, Wayne Johnson, Tony Bruce Jr., Brad Loyet, Jason Johnson, Seth Bergman, Lucas Wolfe, Logan Forler, Dustin Morgan, Danny Wood, Rick Ziehl, Joshua Williams, Billy Chester III, Joshua Hodges, Brock Lemley, Ronnie Clark, Justyn Cox, Christopher Bell, Kyle Sager, Shawn Peterson, Aaron Ruetzel.