Boyd Checkered Flag To McClelland


BOYD, Texas — Brian McClelland snared his second ASCS Regional win of the year with a late move to take the checkered flag in Friday night’s 25-lap The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star main event at Boyd Raceway.

Piloting the Ronnie Davis No. 25 entry, McClelland made a white-flag pass of Kolt Walker to take his second career feature win at Boyd Raceway after recording a Sooner score atop the quarter-mile clay oval in 2008.

The Tulsa, Okla., racer crossed the stripe just ahead of Walker, who took the lead away from John Ricketts on the third circuit only to surrender the point to McClelland on the 24th lap.

ASCS Lone Star points leader Matt Covington claimed the show position behind McClelland and Walker with defending series champion Eric Baldaccini and Justin Melton rounding out the top five.

The finish:

Brian McClelland, Kolt Walker, Matt Covington, Eric Baldaccini, Justin Melton, Claud Estes, Gary Floyd, Michael Lang, Chad Wilson, Larry Howery, Robert Byrom, John Ricketts, Ryan Hall, Mike George.