ASCS Sprints Debuting At TMS Dirt Track


TULSA, Okla. – After a weekend off following the Wicked City Shootout at Dodge City Raceway Park, the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series gets back on the road for the series debut at The Dirt Track at Texas Motor Speedway.

Joining the third night of the Port-a-Cool National Dirt Track Championship at the four-tenths-mile clay oval, the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV will join a slew of Modified and Limited Modifieds on Saturday.

Marking the list of tracks as the 128th to host the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV, the Dirt Track and Texas Motor Speedway is the 17th in the Lone Star State. Since the National Tour’s inception in 1993, a total of 140 feature events have been contested in Texas with the first held at the Lone Star Speedway in Kilgore, Texas on June 5, 1993.

In all four drivers have wins totaling double digits with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV. Gary Wright of Hooks leads the Texas all time win list with 33 victories to his credit.

Current runner up to the Hook, Texas, native is Jason Johnson with 15. Garry Lee Maier garnered 11 before his retirement from Sprint Cars earlier this year with Wayne Johnson having captured 10 Texas wins.

Jason Johnson currently carries a 17 point advantage over Wayne Johnson into this Saturday’s events at the Dirt Track and Texas Motor Speedway. Brady Bacon continues to hold third 176 points back with Johnny Herrera and Brad Loyet making up the top five in tour standings. Tony Bruce, Jr., Seth Bergman, Logan Forler, Dustin Morgan, and Gary Wright make up the top 10.


Previous articleAmerican Le Mans Set For VIR Debut
Next articleBig Kahuna Announcers Revealed is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.