45 Dates For Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Cars

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series will embark on a schedule that features 45 events next year, with more expected to be added. (Boyd Adams Photo)

TULSA, Okla. – The 26th year of the Lucas Oil American Sprint Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network features 45 confirmed dates, with more expected to be added in the coming weeks and months.

Of the 45 confirmed dates, six stops will be a new facilities for the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network.

“We’ve got a few more shows that we’re just working on details on so we haven’t posted those yet, and have dates were just looking to fill at this point but the list of new tracks on the 2017 schedule shows the series is still continuing to grow,” said ASCS Schedule Coordinator Terry Mattox.

Matt Ward, the grandson to ASCS founder, Emmett Hahn, will embark on his seventh season as the head of the American Sprint Car Series.

“I’m looking forward to it. We are fortunate to work with great promoters who continue to bring the series back and look forward to having that list of promoters grow,” Ward said. “We’ve got some of the best talent in the sport that supports us, and we’re exited to see new teams coming on in 2017 as well.”

The series will kick of its 26th season at Devil’s Bowl Spring Nationals in Mesquite, Texas on March 17-18. The 44th edition of the Spring Nationals, the weekend will be followed by the Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track on April 7-8 as Tony Stewart presents the Texas Sprint Car Nationals which will be run in conjunction with NASCAR weekend at the Texas Motor Speedway.

Returning to Missouri State Fair Speedway in Sedalia on April 23, the series will follow NASCAR to Kansas for a Thursday run at Lakeside Speedway on May 11.

Adding three new tracks to the ASCS history books, the series will return to Colorado for the first time since 1998 with Memorial Day Weekend going three deep at Colorado Motor Sports Park in Byers, Colo., on May 26, followed by El Paso County Raceway in Calhan on May 27 and Phillips County Raceway in May 28.

Things really pick up in the month of June as Speedweek kicks off June 10 at Route 66 Motor Speedway in Amarillo, Texas. Returning to the Devil’s Bowl on June 13, the series runs to Oklahoma on June 14 for a night at Lawton Speedway in Lawton, Okla., then Creek County Speedway in Sapulpa, Okla. on June 15. Another first time facility will see action on June 16 at the high-banked Randolph County Raceway in Moberly, Mo. The track has previously been scheduled, but no events have been run. Speedweek will wrap up at Lucas Oil Speedway on June 17.

Next will be a quick trip to Washington where Alger’s Skagit Speedway presents the Dirt Cup with teams again gunning for their chance at a $15,000 payday. The Dirt Cup is slated for June 22-24.

On the road to Middle America, the series will see its next new facility on July 21 at the Shadyhill Speedway in Medaryville, Ind. before turning back to Missouri for another run at Randolph County Raceway in July 22. A rare standalone event at the Knoxville Raceway in Knoxville, Iowa, the series will headline July 29 as a prelude to the Arnold Motor Supply ASCS 360 Knoxville Nationals on Aug. 3-5.

The series will go for another big payday on Aug. 20 with the High Roller Classic at Missouri State Fair Speedway. Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn. is back on the National Tour lineup on Aug. 26.

Labor Day Weekend will have the series return to the Jackson Motor Speedway in Jackson, Minn., on Sept. 1-2 before the series returns to Tennessee on Sept. 16 with Duck River Raceway Park in Shelbyville, Tenn., rounding out the list of new facilities.

The Hockett/McMillin Memorial will again be three nights with a hefty five figure payday on the line in Saturday’s finale. The event will be Sept. 21-23.

Going into the final run for the 2017 National Championship, four straight weekends of racing kicks off at the 44th Devil’s Bowl Winter Nationals on Oct. 20-21 followed by the Creek County Speedway Fall Fling on Oct. 27-28.

Ending things out in Arizona, the former USA Raceway is back as Wildcat Raceway in Tucson, Ariz., with action on Nov. 3-4. The season will wrap up at the Cocopah Speedway in Somerton, Ariz. on Nov. 10-11.

Click to the next page for the full Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series schedule.