Andrews Gets Another Golden Bear

Chris Andrews and crew in victory lane at California's Delta Speedway.
Chris Andrews and crew in victory lane at California's Delta Speedway.
Chris Andrews and crew in victory lane at California’s Delta Speedway.

STOCKTON, Calif. — Chris Andrews added a third Golden Bear to his Pace Chassis California Speedweek mantle, while Gio Scelzi and Caden Sarale also visited victory lane Wednesday night at Delta Speedway.

Gio Scelzi’s $1000 win came in the PMP Super 600 division, where Scelzi had claimed the Micro Sprint Mart fast time award in both nights of racing so far.

Tucker Worth led the 30-lap feature to the green with the first caution for Washington’s Dallas Melby spinning in turn two. Austin Stone was slow to get going on the first attempt at a restart and collected Ryan Delisle, Chris Hinkle, and Shawn Laeber in the process. The trio was wedged up against the wall with Laeber’s night over.

Jake Hagopian moved past Jake Andreotti for fifth on the restart. Stone and Hagopian had a brief mixup that bounced Stone back to sixth.

Tucker Worth encountered lapped traffic including his brother Ryan Worth.  Tucker had trouble lapping his brother, spinning into turn one to surrender the lead and draw a lap-12 caution.

Andrews assumed the lead while Hagopian challenged Scelzi for second briefly before another caution.  The following restart saw Andrews scoot away before he spun from the lead in turn two on lap 20. He was able to continue but not after surrendering the lead to Scelzi. Andreotti’s top-five hopes were dashed when he spun and got hit by Ben Worth who was able to continue.

Scelzi drove on for a 2.081 second victory over Hagopian, Stone, 2015 Speedweek champion Michael Faccinto and Ben Worth.

Andrews won his second Fast Four Media Non Wing to add to his opening night Super 600 win as well to make the Oklahoma driver 3-for-4 this year.

Austin Stone led the field to green while outside pole sitter and Sawyer Chassis fast qualifier Matt Moore fell back to fourth.

Moore used the restart to get third back from Dan Mognaga, who won a Hoosier Tire heat race earlier in the night.  2015 Speedweek champion T.J. Smith got past Mognaga a lap later.

Tristan Guardino tagged the turn one wall for a yellow on lap eight.  Guardino was able to continue racing.

The following restart saw Andrews size up Stone with several wheel-standing moves in turn two as he jockeyed high and low.  The pressure eventually saw Stone bobble in turn four to hand Andrews the lead on lap 14.

Colton Hardy spun in turn four for a late caution on lap 23 that nullified Andrews’ lead in lapped traffic.  Andrews was able to maintain his cushion when the green came back out.

Smith jumped inside Stone for second before Stone closed the door heading into turn one.  The hard battle allowed Andrews to pull away with five laps to go.

Trey Marcham worked past 2015 Delta Speedway main event winner Dan Mognaga for fourth in the last run to the checkered flag as well.

Andrews scored a 2.327-second win ahead of Smith, Stone, Mognaga and Brendan Warmerdam.  Blake McGourty had a wild flip racing past the finish line but was uninjured.

Caden Sarale defended his 2015 Speedweek Restricted win at Delta Speedway by winning the 2016 edition as well. The 2015 Delta Speedway champion led 22 laps for the win.

Brody Fuson and Keith Day Jr. had a big crash into turn one at the start with Fuson upside down. Arizona drivers Logan Heath and Dale Eliason Jr. both tangled hard coming to the crash as well.  Austin Warmerdam pulled into the infield as did Garth Kasiner while Ben Silliker and Jessica McManus got tangled slowing for the red too.

Heat race winner Jake Smith fell from second after tagging the frontstretch wall but he was able to continue. Fuson had potential visibility problems with his top wing smashed low on the car and he tangled with Lance Hurst for a caution on lap four.

Sarale took the lead on lap nine and never looked back for a comfortable win with Dixon winner Joey Ancona second over Smith, Colby Thornhill, and Jessica McManus.