SCCA Accepting Hall Of Fame Nominations


TOPEKA, Kan. – Sports Car Club of America is currently soliciting nominations for the 2015 SCCA Hall of Fame presented by Mazda class through Oct. 15.

Members and others from the motorsports community are encouraged to nominate the legends of the sport who have made a significant impact on the development of SCCA, through service to the organization, achievements in competition, or bringing recognition to the Club.

The SCCA Hall of Fame was established in 2004, and honored legends Dan Gurney, Bob Bondurant, Kathy Barnes, Dr. Bob Hubbard and Jim Downing, and Pete Hylton in 2014. Cameron Argetsinger, Mark Donohue, Paul Newman and John Bishop are just a few of the stars previously inducted in the 55-member Hall.

“The SCCA had an impressive alumni and our Hall of Fame is the pinnacle of recognition for those most accomplished members past and present,” Lisa Noble, SCCA President/CEO, said. “Those who make the cut are legends, not only of the Club, but of the sport. I encourage everyone to send in nominations and not just to assume that their hero or deserving recipient has been covered, as a member cannot become a Hall of Famer without that first step.”

Each year, the SCCA Hall of Fame Nominating Committee accepts nominations from the membership. Nominations should be kept to two pages or less, and indicate the background and reasons for consideration. After reviewing the potential candidates, 15 official nominees will be submitted to the SCCA Hall of Fame Selection Committee. The Selection Committee will then conduct additional research on the 15 nominees before choosing the final five inductees, who will be formally announced in December.

Individuals may submit candidates for the Hall Of Fame by emailing [email protected] or mailing to SCCA Hall of Fame Committee, 6620 SE Dwight St., Topeka, KS 66619.