Le Mans LMP2 Winner Stripped Of Class Victory


LE MANS, France – Officials have stripped G-Drive Racing of their 24 Hours of Le Mans victory in the LMP2 class for a technical infraction.

The No. 26 Oreca driven by┬áRoman Rusinov, Jean-Eric Vergne and Andrea Pizzitola crossed the finish line two laps ahead of it’s closest competition to easily win the class. However, officials discovered the team fitted an illegal part to the refueling rig to help speed up pit stops.

As a result, officials stripped the team of their victory and awarded the LMP2 class victory at Le Mans to the No. 36 Signatech Alpine Oreca of Nicolas Lapierre, Andre Negrao and Pierre Thiriet.

The No. 39 Graff-SO24 shared by Vincent Capillaire, Jonathan Hirschi and Tristan Gommendy will now be credited with second in class. The United Autosports No. 32 Ligier of two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya, Will Owen and Hugo de Sadeleer was promoted to third in class.