2018 Formula E Schedule Unveiled

Formula E
Eight manufacturers have been accepted to enter the FIA Formula E Championship in 2018-2019. (Formula E Photo)

GENEVA – The 2018 FIA Formula E Championship calendar has been revealed following the FIA World Motor Sport Council meeting in Geneva.

The calendar features a more compact schedule, including three doubleheaders and three new venues, Santiago, Sao Paulo and Rome. The fourth edition of the world’s first fully-electric single-seater racing series features the most races to appear on the calendar since its inception in 2014.

The Formula E cars will take to the track in the season-opener in Hong Kong for the second year running on Dec. 2-3, the first doubleheader to take place in Asia.

Formula E will stop at new locations in both South America and Europe, with races in the Chilean capital of Santiago in February, the first race in Brazil on the streets of Sao Paulo in March, and Rome in mid-April.

The electric street racing series will also be returning to the French capital for the third edition of the Paris ePrix on April 28, building on the success of the previous two events to be held around Les Invalides.

The penultimate event sees Formula E return to New York, against the backdrop of Lower Manhattan and the Statue of Liberty, with the season coming to a close once again over the course of two days in Montreal on July 28-29.