Tequila Patron ESM Confirms ISMA Driver Roster

Tequila Patron ESM
Tequila Patron ESM has confirmed its ISMA driver roster for 2017. (IMSA Photo)

RIVIERA BEACH, Fla. – Tequila Patron ESM has announced its driver roster for the planned full-time return to the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship next year.

The Florida based team will return after a few years in the World Endurance Championship with its familiar lineup of Scott Sharp, Ryan Dalziel, Ed Brown and Johannes van Overbeek as the full time drivers in the No. 2 and No. 22 Tequila Patrón ESM Ligier DPi cars.

Luis Felipe “Pipo” Derani, Bruno Senna and Brendon Hartley will join the squad for the first race of the year, the Rolex 24 of Daytona.

The team previously announced its two car entry, transitioning from the Daytona Prototype chassis to the new Daytona Prototype international (DPi) cars. The team is partnering with Nissan Nismo, Ligier and Oak Racing for the return to IMSA. The two new DPi cars will run with the ACO/FIA homologated LMP2 Prototype Ligier chassis in the IMSA Prototype class.

Extreme Speed Motorsports owner Sharp will pilot the No. 2 car, with Tequila Patrón ESM veteran Ryan Dalziel returning for his third season with the team. Derani will rejoin Sharp and Dalziel for the Tequila Patrón North American Endurance Cup races, the four race endurance championship within the main championship.

Patrón Spirits Company President and CEO Brown and van Overbeek will be returning for their eighth year together under the Tequila Patrón ESM banner. Brazilian driver Senna raced alongside Brown and van Overbeek in the 2016 WEC LMP2 class and will return to American competition for the team’s North American Endurance Cup races. New Zealander and 2015 WEC LMP1 class champion Hartley joins the team for the Rolex 24 at Daytona.

“All of Patrón Tequila Patrón ESM is pumped to be back a part of the IMSA Weathertech Series,” said Sharp. “The new DPi formula is quickly gaining attention and large expectations. We are excited to take our new 2017 Ligier-Nissan to battle. We have an incredible mix of drivers for 2017. I think it is an outstanding group.

“Johannes and Ed are back for their eighth year with ESM in car No. 22. They will be joined in the endurance races by Bruno Senna and Brendon Hartley, two fabulously quick guys. Ryan Dalziel will be back with myself for the season in the No. 2 car. I can’t say enough good things about Ryan. We are great teammates and poised for a fantastic season. We are very fortunate to be joined by Pipo for all of the NAEC races. We all know what he is capable of, as he is super strong behind the wheel.”