54-Car Field For Roar Before The Rolex 24


BMW Team RLL has a pair of BMW M6 GTLM entries, which includes the No. 19 “art car” to be shared by Bill Auberlen, Alexander Sims, Augusto Farfus and Bruno Spengler. The art car was designed by renowned artist John Baldessari and will be the first BMW art car to be raced in North America since the program began in 1975. John Edwards, Martin Tomczyk, Nicky Catsburg and Kuno Wittmer will share the team’s No. 24 BMW M6 GTLM.

the No. 62 Ferrari 488 GTE for Toni Vilander. (Richard Dole LAT Photo USA photo)
the No. 62 Ferrari 488 GTE for Toni Vilander. (Richard Dole
LAT Photo USA photo)

Perennial Ferrari competitors Risi Competizione will field the lone prancing horse in the GTLM field, the No. 62 Ferrari 488 GTE for Toni Vilander and additional co-drivers to be announced.

The GT Daytona class features a number of exciting new race cars making their public debut at the Roar, as Mercedes-AMG, Lexus and Acura GT3 cars enter the largest WeatherTech Championship class.

There will be three Mercedes-AMG GT3 entries. The No. 50 Riley Motorsports–WeatherTech Racing machine has co-drivers Cooper MacNeil, Gunnar Jeannette, Shane van Gisbergen and Thomas Jager; the No. 33 Riley Motorsports-Team AMG entry features 2015 Rolex 24 GTD winner Keating alongside co-drivers Jeroen Bleekemolen, Mario Farnbacher and Adam Christodoulou; and the No. 75 SunEnergy1 Racing car includes Kenny Habul, Tristan Vautier and Boris Said.

A pair of Lexus RC F GT3 entries comes from 3GT Racing. Five-time overall and 10-time Rolex 24 class winner Scott Pruett leads the lineup in the No. 14 Lexus with co-drivers Sage Karam, Ian James and Gustavo Menezes, with Jack Hawksworth, Robert Alon, Dominik Farnbacher and Austin Cindric slated for the No. 15 Lexus.

Longtime Prototype class competitors Michael Shank Racing moves to GTD in 2016 to field a pair of Acura NSXs. Co-driving the team’s No. 86 machine will be Ozz Negri, Jeff Segal, Tom Dyer and IndyCar and Indy 500 champion Ryan Hunter-Reay. In the No. 93 Acura will be Andy Lally, Katherine Legge, Mark Wilkins and second-generation IndyCar star Graham Rahal.

A pair of Ferrari 488 GT3s has been entered, led by the No. 63 Scuderia Corsa 488 for defending GTD champions Christina Nielsen and Alessandro Balzan. A total of eight Lamborghini Huracán GT3s have been entered in GTD, including Paul Miller Racing’s No. 48 Castrol Edge/Universal Industrial Sales entry for Madison Snow, Bryan Sellers, Bryce Miller and Andrea Caldarelli.

Audi, the 2016 GTD manufacturers’ champion in both the WeatherTech Championship and the Patrón Endurance Cup, has three R8 LMS machines on the current entry list led by the No. 57 Stevenson Automotive Group entry for Lawson Aschenbach, Andrew Davis, Matt Bell and Robin Liddell. Alex Job Racing will field the No. 23 Audi for 2015 WeatherTech Championship GTD champions Bill Sweedler and Townsend Bell, who will be joined by Frankie Montecalvo and Pierre Kaffer.

Five Porsche 911 GT3 Rs have been entered, including the No. 54 Composite Resources Porsche from multi-time PC champions CORE autosport, which moves to GTD with full-season co-drivers Jon Bennett and Colin Braun. Bennett and Braun will be joined by Porsche factory driver Patrick Long and Nic Jonsson.

Aston Martin Racing has entered the No. 98 Aston Martin Vantage for Paul Dalla Lana, Pedro Lamy, Mathias Lauda and a fourth driver to be announced. Also to be announced is the driver lineup for the No. 97 Turner Motorsport BMW M6 GT3.