Tim Minor Stays Undefeated In F2000


A big story of the day was “Fast-Matt” – Matt McDonough – who piloted the Radon chassis to third place. The 2006 Champion was filling in for Paul Farmer in the No. 69 GTP Motorsports entry, having last raced in 2011 at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park.

“I saw Kevin’s (Kopp) tires going away on the last few laps and I was able to draft by on the back stretch, we touched a bit too. I am very happy with the car, and it has a lot to do with the people at GTP Motorsports and back at the shop in New Hampshire,” added McDonough, hinting that he may race in more F2000 events this year.

Kopp would settle for fourth in the No. 22 WISKO machine, while Dave Weitzenhof was fifth, charging through the field.

Weitzenhof earned the CellMark Paper Hard Charger Award, starting 16th after going off in qualifying and finishing fifth in the No. 67 Citation chassis.

After coming in third in the F1600 race on Saturday morning, Steve Bamford was sixth, with Shane Morris following in seventh for the WISKO team.

Keith McCrone marked the Metrik chassis’ best finish yet in eighth for R-Sport, with Dan Denison and Brent Gilkes following.