SCCA Racers Rock Pikes Peak

Bruce Phillips en route to victory in GT-2 class during Saturday's SCCA Majors Tour event at Pikes Peak Int'l Raceway in Colorado. (SCCA Staff Photo)
Bruce Phillips en route to victory in GT-2 class during Saturday’s SCCA Majors Tour event at Pikes Peak Int’l Raceway in Colorado. (SCCA Staff Photo)

FOUNTAIN, Colo. – The Sports Car Club of America U.S. Majors Tour visited Colorado for the first time in 2013 Saturday, with 21 drivers taking wins at Continental Divide Region’s “Rock the Peak” event at Pikes Peak Int’l Raceway.

On a warm, sunny day, drivers took to the 1.5 mile oval based road course to run clockwise for the first time, meaning new track records were on the line in addition to the Majors hardware.

Race One polesitter Craig Reeder, of Scottsdale, Ariz., saw second-starting Michael Cameron get the jump to the lead in Spec Racer Ford. Reeder hounded Cameron with his No. 66 LaRue Motorsports entry before finally drafting alongside on Lap Eight of the 35-lap contest. From there, Cameron stretched out to a 24.994-second victory over Cameron’s No. 10 Surface Exploration entry, followed by Jim Christian’s No. 6 entry.

Group Two for small formula cars got off to a rough start, when Formula F polesitter Bill Kephart, of Colorado Springs, was involved in an incident in Turn Two with David Loken and Bob Melvin. The field was brought down pit lane to expedite the cleanup of the three cars. Following the restart, Doug Stout’s No. 11 DS Masonry Van Diemen Honda led John Butkovich’s No. 23 Front Range Motorsports Van Diemen Honda for 10 laps before Butkovich moved around into the lead and sped off to victory.

As expected, Formula Vee was a back-and-forth battle. Pole winner Lisa Noble’s No. 7 Vortech and Tyler Hunter’s No. 22 Vortech traded the lead and the fastest lap throughout the race. As they received the signal for one lap to go, the pair was side-by-side at the stripe. Hunter emerged ahead to capture the win.

Bruce Phillips, of Albuquerque, N.M., dominated Group Three for the big-bore cars, winning overall and in GT-2 in his Porsche 911 GT3 Cup. In Touring 3, polesitter Tommy Boileau (No. 34 BFG R1/1-800-FIGHT-MS BMW MZ4) and third-gridded Derek Kulach (No. 00 Zorro Racing/Nissan Motors Nissan 350Z) battled for the first half of the race before Kulach began to pull away and take the victory. Other winners included Michael Pettiford (Touring 2), Jim Wheeler (American Sedan) and Bob Schader, who took his fourth Super Touring® Lite Majors win of the year.

Group Five had some of the closest qualifying times, both in E Production and F Production, and the race did not disappoint.

Previous articlePHOTOS: Firestone Freedom 100
Next articleRain Can’t Stop SCCA Western Conference is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.