SCCA Crowns Western Conference Champs

Ken Sutherland (94) leads Spec Miata Sunday at Portland (Ore.) Int'l Raceway. (Doug Berger Photo)
Ken Sutherland (94) leads Spec Miata Sunday at Portland (Ore.) Int'l Raceway. (Doug Berger Photo)
Ken Sutherland (94) leads Spec Miata Sunday at Portland (Ore.) Int’l Raceway. (Doug Berger Photo)

PORTLAND, Ore. – The final round of the 2014 SCCA Western Conference Majors Tour is in the books and all championships are decided. Many of those championships were determined in the final races of the series Sunday at Portland Int’l Raceway.

The day opened with Spec Racer Ford. This championship was decided yesterday in favor of local leader Todd Harris of the Pro Drive Racing Team in the No. 24 Pro Drive/Flat Out/HMS SRF. Today’s contest saw past National champion Mike Miserendino in the No. 11 MBI Racing SRF prove his skills by leading several laps. In the end, however, Harris slipped by Miserendino for the checker. Steve Fogg was third in the No. 21 Pro Drive/Flat Out SRF.

The Spec Miata drivers looked ready to repeat Saturday’s race, with Will Schrader’s No. 87 Miata and Ken Sutherland in the No. 94 Fire Protection Miata starting on the front row. Sutherland emerged victorious despite a strong challenge from Kyle Kaiser of Santa Clara, Calif. in the No. 88 Mazda Miata.

Clement Lee finished eighth in the No. 28 RM Autosports Miata, resulting in a points tie with Sutherland for the season. In the case of a tie, the championship is awarded based on total number of race wins, which allowed Sutherland to claim the title.

“God is great,” Sutherland said. “I’m preparing my car to go to the Runoffs. I’m bringing the same car with the same engine – nothing special. I hope it’s good enough to beat those fast guys down there.”

Group Four included the big-bore GT classes, American Sedan, and Touring 1. The race for the overall lead was between Western Conference champion Michael Von Quilich in the No. 19 Dodge Viper, Steven Streimer in the Lux Performance/Streimer Porsche GT3 Cup, and Matt Crandall in his No. 3 Porsche GT3 Cup. Von Quilich turned up the wick for an early lead, but temperatures were rising in the late morning and Crandall moved ahead for the win.

“Michael is incredibly fast in the straightaway, but Steven (Streimer) and I have a home track advantage here,” Crandall said. “Steve drove a great race, but he got off a little bit. When the Viper’s tires started to go away, I was able to get ahead.”

Collin Jackson won the GT3 class again in the No. 53 Nissan, sealing his Western Conference championship. Ken Davis won in Touring 1, but the Championship went to Marc Hoover in the No. 98 Hooverspeed/NRA/Necksgen Mazda Miata. Kevin Smith reinforced his American Sedan championship in the No. 3 Stacey and Holly Smith Pontiac Firebird with a win.

In Group Five, Chris Farrell secured his championship in the Prototype 1 class driving the No. 58 C&M Mfg/GDR Engines/Hoosier Tire Stohr WF1. Farrell led the race from the pole position to the checker. Wade Carter won Formula Atlantic in the No. 74 Swift, and Zach Crago took the Formula Continental win in his No. 27 Rocky Mountain Medical Lasers Van Diemen. Michael Manning in the Cypress Lane Racing/Auto-Ware/Fast Van Diemen secured the championship in FC with a fourth place finish.

Previous articleVIDEO: Victory Lane, Aric Almirola
Next articleEkstrom Rocks Swedish Rallycross Foes is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.