SCCA Convention Kicks Off With Awards


LAS VEGAS — Two separate award celebrations were held throughout Friday at the SCCA National Convention presented by SafeRacer, recognizing some of the year’s best efforts at the South Point Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas.

With Raleigh Boreen hosting the awards luncheon, outgoing program board members were recognized and incoming board members were introduced to the attendees.

Howard Duncan, SCCA VP, Rally/Solo, and Terry Ozment, SCCA VP, Club Racing, came to the stage to present the first set of the day’s awards.

Among the honors was the long-recognized Road Rally award. The Arthur J. Gervais award is presented annually to year’s outstanding National Course Rally, and has been since 1960. The winner is chosen via a vote of the top 20 competitors in each class who have competed in at least four events. Prior to 1989, this award encompassed all National Rallies each year. This year’s Gervais Award was given to the Arizona Border Region’s Desert Sands Rally, chaired and accepted by John Sears.

The day concluded with the Happy Hour Region Leadership Awards. The open reception recognized Region Achievement Awards, the Tom Burke Award for percentage growth in the past year, and the prestigious Region of the Year.

This year, SCCA VP, Membership & Region Services Colan Arnold presented the Detroit Region with the prestigious Region of the Year. Assistant Regional Executive Pat Barber accepted the award on behalf of the Region.

The complete list of RallyCross®, the Tire Rack Solo program, and Time Trials awards presented on Friday were:

Road Rally

Manufacturer’s Championship: Subaru

Regional Achievement Award: Detroit Region

Divisional Achievement Award: Great Lakes Division

National Tour Rally of the Year: Badgers Trail Rally, Land O’Lakes Region, chaired by John Emmons

Arthur J. Gervais Award: Desert Sands Rally, Arizona Border Region, chaired by John Sears


Regional Achievement Award: Delta Region

Divisional Achievement Award: Southern Pacific Division


Region Cup Awards: Cal Club Region (Jumbo Region category), Texas Region (Large Region category), Northwest Ohio Region (Medium Region category), Lone Star Region (Small Region category)

Time Trials

Event of the Year: Cincinnati Region

The Region Leadership Awards

Tom Burke Awards

Small Regions: South Texas Border, Andrew McMillan, RE

Medium Regions: Glen Region, Lawrence Emery, Jr., RE

Large Regions: Finger Lakes Region, Michael Toombs, RE

Jumbo Regions: Oregon Region, Andrew Foley, RE

Region Achievement Awards

Small Regions: Arizona Border Region (winner), West Texas Region (Honorable Mention)

Medium Regions: Continental Divide Regions (winner), South Bend Region (Honorable Mention)

Large Regions: Land O’ Lakes Region (winner), St. Louis Region (Honorable Mention)

Jumbo Regions: Detroit Region (winner), Milwaukee Region (Honorable Mention)

Region of the Year

Detroit Region, Dr. Jennifer M. Glass, RE

Honorable Mention: Arizona Border Region; Central Carolinas Region



Previous articleAgeless Martin Grabs Phoenix Pole
Next articleKulhanek Stars At Golden Triangle is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.