Eastern Majors Tour Concludes At The Glen

Robert Detrick (4) starts his move around Joe Parsons (37) for the FF lead. (Anthony Bristol photo)
Robert Detrick (4) starts his move around Joe Parsons (37) for the FF lead. (Anthony Bristol photo)

WATKINS GLEN, N.Y. — The SCCA Eastern Conference Majors Tour capped its season on Sunday from the BFGoodrich Tires Watkins Glen Super Tour, settling the unclaimed championships and 14-lap races in 28 classes.

Early on in the opening group, it looked like Rick Kavitski would repeat his E Production runaway in the No. 24 RDK Engineering Mazda Miata. Chris Dryden, running second, showed a burst of speed in his No. 02 Carbotech/PayPal/Team JBS BMW Z3 in the middle stages of the race, setting a new track record with a lap of 2:07.595 and pulling away for the win. A finish by Donald Walsh, of Orrtanna, Pa., secured the Eastern Conference E Production Championship in the No. 47 Classic Auto Mazda RX-7.

Ron Bartell repeated in H Production, sweeping the weekend in the No. 4 Hoosier Tires MG Midget. Kevin Ruck got revenge for Saturday, running away with F Production after a flat tire on the No. 3 Hoosier/Honda/Cobalt Acura Integra robbed him of victory on Saturday.

Eastern Conference GT-1 Champion Dillon Machavern tried to put a last lap move on Amy Ruman’s No. 23 McNichols Co./Cenwald/Goodyear Chevrolet Corvette after Ruman had opened up a lead, but the last-ditch effort backfired. Machavern’s No. 29 Heritage Automotive Group/Riggins Engineering For d Falcon ended in the gravel trap in a checkers or wreckers move, allowing Ruman to sweep the weekend.

Russ Snow put an exclamation point on his season, clinching the GT-2 Championship with a win in the No. 20 M D Racing Chevrolet Corvette. Snow hounded Jim Goughary’s No. 46 Hoosier Tire/Redline Oil Nissan 350Z for most of the race, then moved in front with less than two laps to go. Snow held on to the finish, taking an 11 point title over Jason Lee’s No. 08 Porterfield Brake Pads/Sparco Audi R8 LMS. Lee joined Snow and Goughary on the podium.

Steven Lustig needed just to coax his No. 51 Luna Sueño Tequila/Autosport Automotive Group Acura Integra to a finish to clinch the GT-3 title, and he did just that with a third-place finish. Joe Kristensen swept the class over the weekend with a pair of wins in his No. 4 Acura RSX.

The small formula car battle was hard racing in all three classes.

Formula F eventually claimed the overall win, as Robert Detrick’s No. 4 Boyer Flight Services Van Diemen RF 98, Joe Parsons’ No. 37 Investment Advisors Asset Management Swift DB-6, Ross DeVoe’s No. 14 RED Racing Van Diemen RF-93, and Charles Foster’s No. 27 Foster & Company Piper DF5 all ran in the overall pack and challenged for – or sat in – the lead.

DeVoe dove the to the inside of Detrick’s machine in turn one to start lap 11, but Detrick made a beautiful sweeping move around the outside to hold the point at the exit. One lap later, DeVoe made it stick, but Detrick was back in front as they crossed the stripe with two to go.

With one to go, Parsons took the lead from Detrick in turn one. Coming out of the boot, with all three in striking distance, Parsons ran wide and off course to open the door for Detrick’s final pass.

Detrick took the win, followed by Parsons and DeVoe, by just 0.609-second at the finish. Topping that thriller earned Detrick the GoPro Hero Move of the Weekend.

Previous articleINDYCAR: Pocono IndyCar 400
Next articlePocono Sweep Ends Ganassi Team’s Drought
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.