SCCA Western Tour Completes Stop At Inde


Ethan Shippert, of Petaluma, Calif., proved he was the class of the field in group three. He drove his Formula F-classed No. 55 Jim Manning Dodge/Shippert Racing/Ivey Engines/Pro Pack Systems/Avon Tyres Crossle 45F to dominating overall victories on both days. Behind him, Stan Townes and Dave Zurlinden pleased the crowds with a great battle for second that lasted a majority of the 22-lap race.

Robert Neumeister, of Pueblo, Colo., repeated as Formula Vee winner after dueling with Dennis Andrade for the lead. By lap 12, Neumeister dispatched with Andrade and held the lead for the remainder of the race.

The fast formula and prototype cars were in the spotlight during group four. Jose Gerardo, of El Paso, Texas, repeated his flag-to-flag winning performance in his No. 14 General Labels and Printing, LLC Stohr F1000, taking the overall and Formula 1000 wins.

Michael Manning, of Dinuba, Calif., also doubled up with wins in Formula Continental, in his No. 25 Cypress Lane Racing/Fast Forward Racing Components/Dauntless Racing Cars/Hoosier Race Tires Van Diemen DP08. Also winning both days in group four were Jeff Read (No. 18 Fantasy Junction/Edy Wood Realtor/Hoosier Tire/Quantum Consulting Services Van Diemen Formula Enterprise), of Vacaville, Calif.; Doug Nelson (No. 07 Raptor Motorsports/Hawk Performance Formula Mazda), of Tucson, Ariz.; Dave Tweedlie (No. 65 Team Tweedlie Racing Stohr WF1), of Riverside, Calif., and David Ferguson (No. 75 Veracity Racing Data/Hoosier Tire Stohr WF1/Suzuki), of Paso Robles, Calif.

In group five, the production classes took center stage, accompanied by the GTL-class and overall victory of Joe Huffaker, of Petaluma, Calif. Driving his No. 77 Huffaker Engineering MG Midget, Huffaker showed off his skill which has helped him to become an eight-time National Champion. During the 22-lap event, Huffaker seemed to be running a qualifying pace as he kept lowering his best lap time with each circuit.

In STL, Clement Lee, of San Diego, Calif., took home his second Majors trophy of the weekend in his No. 3 RM Autosports Mazda Miata.

Lee Niffenegger, of Santa Clarita, Calif., swept the weekend in his Touring 4 No. 42 Honda Racing/BFGoodrich Tires Honda Civic Si. Gary Whittman (No. 33 Teodize/Venolia Austing Healy Sprite), of Costa Mesa, Calif., and Keith Gillespie (No. 23 Hasport Performance Honda Prelude), of Tempe, Ariz., also racked up double wins in their respective classes.

The big-bore cars of group six ended the day. Again Michael Lewis, of Poway, Calif., drove to a win in his No. 12 Goodyear/Cyclo/Redline Oil Jaguar XKR. Michael von Quilich, of Pahrump, Nev., also completed the weekend sweep winning the GT-2 class in his No. 19 SRT Viper ACRX.

Also sweeping the weekend from group five was Michael Skelton (No. 10 Ford Mustang), of Albuquerque, N.M.

The next stop for the Majors Western Conference will be rounds five and six at Thunderhill Raceway Park, April 12-13.