SCCA Western Stars Battle In Portland


The American Sedan class in the same run group was a study in contrast. Kevin Smith fought for the lead in his Stacy & Holly Smith Pontiac Firebird. Challenging him was Todd Cook in his American Precision Ford Mustang. The two were nose-to-tail through most of the race, with Cook testing Smith at every turn.

“It was a hard, hard race,” Smith said. “Todd made it difficult and it was a blast.”

The GT-2 victory and the Western Conference title in GT-2 were claimed by Erich Joiner in his Tool of North America Porsche, and GT-3 was won by Collin Jackson in his Nissan 240SX. Michael Von Quilich took home T1 honors and the Western Conference title in his SRT Viper.

In the race group affectionately known as wings and things, the top Formula and Sports Racer drivers in the west contended for several Conference titles. Miles Jackson brought home the overall and CSR class win as well as clinching the CSR Conference championship in his Jackson Dean Construction Stohr CSR.

TJ Fischer took the win in Formula Mazda and the Conference title in his Rathbun Associates Formula Mazda. James Blackwell brought home FA honors today in his Toyota/Scion Reynard 93H, but will have to wait until Sunday’s ultimate round to see if he wins the Conference championship.

In the Formula 1000 class, Larry Vollum won the class in his Compview Medical Stohr F1000, and if he wins again tomorrow, will claim the Conference title. Similarly, Michael Manning won the Formula Continental race in his Cypress Lane Racing/Dauntless Racing Van Diemen, and must race again tomorrow to claim the championship.

David Ferguson won both the Conference title and his Sports 2000 race, driving the Veracity Racing Data Van Diemen to a win over Mark Schue in his Swift DB5. Kevin Roggenbuck drove his Lake Union Sea Ray West DSR to the D Sports Racing class win.

In the final race of the afternoon, Marc Hoover drove his Hooverspeed/NRA/Necksgen/RedLine Oil Mazda Miata to a commanding victory, lapping the entire field. In the process, he clinched the championship as well.

Stephen Epperly drove his ZTherapy Inc. Datsun 260Z to the E Production victory, while Jess Heitman drove his Maz-Toy Auto Recycling/Jesse Prather Motorsports Mazda Miata to F Production honors. However, it was second-place Sean Powers who claimed the Western Conference FP title today in his Frank Churruca/TAOFAS Racing/Jesse Prather Motorsports Mazda Miata.

Lans Stout took the GTL win in his Loyning’s Engine Service Nissan Sentra, while Spencer Gorham won T3 in his River City Eyecare Nissan 350Z. Gary Bockman of Portland, Ore. won Spec Miata in his BSI Racing/Team KBR/DBB Mazda Miata. Michael Cummings won H Production over the venerable Monte Shelton Cummings’ DDM Cylinder Head/Red Line Oil Austin-Healey Sprite will also carry him to the Western Conference title in HP when he races tomorrow.

Derrick Ambrose won both the B-Spec race and the Western Conference title in his Corksport Mazda Performance Mazda2.

Previous articleReynolds Leads SCCA Mid-State Winners
Next articleHighland Summer Nationals Stop Rained Out is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.