SCCA Northern Tour Wraps Busy Weekend


The Spec Racer Ford win was Rettich’s fourth overall this weekend, including a Formula Enterprises sweep.

The H Production battle involved the same two cars that duked it out during Saturday’s race – the No. 2 Midwest Bayless Italian Auto Fiat X 1/9 of Matt Brannon and the No. 8 Triumph Spitfire of Aaron Johnson.

Brannon led early, but Johnson, Saturday’s winner, closed the gap and moved into the lead on lap 12. Brannon used the draft and the banking to move back in front on lap 14, with Johnson reclaiming the point through the infield section of the track.

The tricky left-hand turn four had caught a number of drivers out during the weekend, and on lap 17 it was Johnson’s turn. Spinning from the lead, Brannon went on to the checkered flag and a weekend split with Johnson.

John Buttermore swept the big bore group with another Touring 1 win on Sunday at MIS in the No. 52 Hoosier/Carbotech/StopTech Chevrolet Corvette. Andy McDermid matched the feat in American Sedan in the No. 24 WeatherTech/Felice Performance Engines/T&A Shocks Ford Mustang, then guaranteed the most memorable finish of the two with a smokey pit lane burnout that stretched the length of 11 NASCAR pit stalls.

An overall weekend sweep by Charles Tobel in the No. 14 Discount Tire/Novi Wall Co. Pontiac Solstice in Super Touring Under was almost broken up by a late race pass by Touring 3 winner Kevin Boehm. Boehm’s’ No. 95 BFGoodrich Tires/HPD/Team Honda Honda S2000 held the lead coming onto the banking for the final time. The pair split a lapped car on the front straight in dramatic fashion before the Solstice crossed the stripe just a split-second ahead for the win.

Katie Lapham ended the weekend with a Formula 500 win. Lapham left the remaining Formula 500 field behind early in her No. 88 QRE Invader QRE/Rotax, then inheriting the lead when overall leader Steven Thompson pulled his No. 3 T&R Fabricating TR1 to pit lane and out of the race on unlucky Lap 13.

Not content with just the class win, Lapham battled hard with Formula F runner-up Mark Davison’s No. 91 Swift DB-1 for second overall, behind eventual winner Russell Ruedisueli’s No. 20 Goodyear Tires Van Deimen RF-99.