Western Majors Tour Champions Crowned


“Judging by qualifying, Matt (Crandall) was very fast. We turned the same time. I think he had the potential to run right with me, but I got a lead and he couldn’t recover,” Gregg said.

In the other classes racing at the same time, Erich Joiner of Torrance, California won the GT2 race and the conference title. Collin Jackson of Langley, B.C., claimed the GT3 race win, but it was Dave Humphrey of Langley, B.C., who claimed the Western Conference GT3 title with a third-place finish. Will Hunholz of Tucson, Ariz., won the Touring 1 race after favorite Michael Von Quilich of Pahrump, Nev., retired with a mechanical issue. Von Quilich did get a finish, which was enough to lock his conference title in T1.

In the smaller formula car race with Formula F and Formula Vee, Stan Townes of Santa Clara, Calif., again drove to a win over Dave Zurlinden of Carmel Valley, Calif..

The race of the day was in Formula Vee, however. With identical records up to this day, the Western Conference title in Formula Vee would go to either Dennis Andrade of Brush Prairie, Wash., or to Terran Swanson of Petaluma, Calif. The race between the two was epic, with the lead changing several times per lap. But at the last lap sign, the two Formula Vees came together in the Festival Curves, leaving both drivers by the side of the track as the race came to a close. Brian McCarthy of Sacramento, Calif., won the FV race, and a Chief Steward’s Action moved Swanson back three positions for avoidable contact. That action delivered the Western Conference title in Formula Vee to Andrade.

In the final race of the day for small bore sports cars, Stephen Epperly of Salem, Ore., was leading EP and the race overall when a flat tire forced a mid-race pit stop. Jess Heitman of Portland, Ore., took over the lead and won the race overall in his F Production Mazda Miata, while Sean Powers of Glendale, Ariz., clinched his FP Conference title with a third-place finish.

Gary Gist won the EP race and with it the Western Conference title in EP.

“I went off and filled the radiator with junk, but I made a quick pit stop and they blew it all out,” Gist said. “It was fast today.”

Spencer Gorham of Gresham, Ore., won Touring 3, while Erin Ebelmesser of Vancouver, Wash., took Touring 4 honors. Joey Jordan of Del Mar, Calif., won the Spec Miata race and, with that victory, claimed the Western Conference title in the class as well. Jim Hargrove of Surrey, B.C., won GT-Lite and the Western Conference title in the class. Michael Cummings of Martinez, Calif., won the H Production race and the title.

Previous articleSCCA Western States Wrap At High Plains
Next articleO’Donnell Is The Thunder Road Master
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.