SCCA Crowns Western Conference Champs


“This year, the focus is on preparing for the Runoffs for sure, but also on winning the Conference,” Manning said. “Our goal this weekend was to clinch the Conference, and the race win yesterday was an added bonus.”

Sunday’s race for Formula 1000 was the last for the Western Conference Majors title, with many drivers running in a concurrent US Formula 1000 West Championship professional series. The pro series will race again in Washington in August at their own event, and count the SCCA National Championship Runoffs in October as the final round of the US F1000 championship.

Larry Vollum repeated Saturday’s win from the pole position in his No. 05 Compview Medical Stohr F1000. But because of the way the season points have added up, Randall Cook claimed the championship after finishing second in the No. 9 Hoosier Tires/Moon Supercycles JDR and John Labrie finished third in the No. 33 Bug and Weed Mart Phoenix. The two ended the Western Conference FB point race with a tie, and Cook was declared the champion by virtue of the greatest number of race wins. Vollum ended up third in Western Conference points.

Scotty B. White jumped to an early T2 lead in the No. 0 BFGoodrich Tires/Knight Transport Ford Mustang and held it throughout the race. David Ray in the No. 30 Hooked on Driving Ford Mustang ran a strong second and claimed the season championship. Russell Peterson was also in the hunt for the championship in his No. 7 Peninsula Equine Ford Shelby GT, finishing third in the race and second in season points.

“I’ve been racing since 1986, but this is the first time I’ve done this,” Ray said. “It’s been a rewarding experience. We’re really proud of the fact that this is a Spec Mustang – a San Francisco Region class, and we want to thank the Club Racing Board for putting us in T2. We’re excited about going to the Runoffs.”

In the hotly contested Super Touring Lite class, Oscar Jackson, Jr. in the No. 16 Dead Horse Racing/Jackson Racing Honda Civic Si won over Clement Lee in the No. 33 RM Autosports Mazda Miata. Going into the race, Jackson trailed Lee by two points in the season championship. Jackson’s win today delivered him the STL Western Conference championship.

In Formula F, Thomas Merrill led the field to the checker in his No. 81 Piper Race Cars/Fast Forward Piper Honda. However, Dave Zurlinden in the No. 131 Pro Pack Systems/Fast Forward Piper Honda claimed the championship with an insurmountable points lead. Dennis Andrade took his second Formula Vee win in two days in the No. 87 D + D Racing Vortech. Jeff Jorgenson took Formula 500 race honors in the No. 84 Veskimo Invader QC-1.

To close out the weekend, Stephen Epperly claimed his second E Production victory of the weekend in his No. 82 ZTherapy, Inc. Datsun 240Z. Lans Stout took a second GT-Lite victory in his No. 6 Loyning’s Engine Service/EFM Nissan. Jess Heitman again drove his No. 47 Maz-Toy Auto Recycling/Jesse Prather Motorsports Mazda Miata unopposed to claim the season championship in F Production. Gordon Jones again drove his No. 25 Mike O’Hara BMW Service BMW 2002 to the race win in H Production.

In Touring 3, Scotty B. White’s No. 0 BFGoodrich Tires/Knight Transport Ford Mustang started the race with a seven point lead over Tom Wickersham in the No. 14 Maine Straight Racing/BFGoodrich Honda S2000. White took the lead at the green flag and never relinquished it to claim the class win and the championship.

Previous articleVIDEO: Victory Lane, Aric Almirola
Next articleEkstrom Rocks Swedish Rallycross Foes is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.